We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Morehead

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Morehead to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Morehead
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hampton Way, Morehead, KY 40351   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Morehead
Elliott Co., KY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hampton Inn is the newest hotel in Morehead, KY. This was the second time we had stayed here. The room was very clean and quiet despite the fact that the hotel was booked and full. While checking in we overheard the front desk turn two different guests away that didn't have reservations because they only had 2 smoking rooms left. I would suggest they go completely non-smoking. They did offer to let each of the potential nonsmoking guests go examine the room to decide about taking the last available rooms. The beds were very comfortable and provided a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    44
    11
    14
    1
See reviews for
58
25
12
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is in our opinion, the best in Morehead. It is where we will stay if our son goes to the University. They truly go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and secure in your stay. Everything is up to technology standards, and they even checked my fridge for me because I was unsure of the tempurature. This despite other more pressing situations they had at hand. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was an unexpected delight! From the capable gentleman Rick who took my reservation over the phone, and then took time to tell me about the area and local eateries. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and within walking distance to Cracker Barrel (ask for Susannah for your server- she was OUTSTANDING!) A plus!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in this April 5-7 hotel as part of a large group.
Pros:
The staff was really wonderful. Very nice! The housekeeping staff was really exceptional. We were very happy with how clean everything was. The breakfast buffet was great. The gentleman that was watching over it was really on the ball. The rooms are very nice. The grounds are very nicely kept. The pool and fitness center was very well maintained.

Cons:
* On the 1st night the 3rd floor hallway was very warm and smelled strongly like cigarettes. On the 2nd night the hallway was even warmer and smelled funky. Not sure exactly what it was but thank goodness it did not spill in to our room. We were not the only ones who noticed it, there were several people talking about it in the elevator.
* The doors to the rooms do not have a soft closer. They SLAM every time someone walks out. And I mean LOUD. You can hear them from down the hall. My husband has a hard time sleeping and every time someone went in or out of their room the door slammed and woke him up. I think they should install some kind of door closer that closes the doors much softer. That would make a HUGE difference.

But all in all the stay was really nice. I would stay there again any time. We will be returning next year and will probably stay at the same Hampton Inn. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stay there frequently as our daughter is attending Morehead State.
Recently, my wife lost a cherished keepsake down the 3rd floor shower drain, The maintenance staff responded quickly and was able to retrieve it for her from the drain. We thought it was gone forever. We are very grateful to "Bobby" for going that extra step!
The Staff is always courteous and friendly. The rooms are great and the price is good for the quality of this hotel. I strongly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind words you have given about our hotel. Bobby is an outstanding individual and an excellent maintenance man, so I am so glad he was able to retrieve your precious piece of jewelry. We strive to meet and exceed all of our guests needs. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Morehead...GO EAGLES!!

Robert Humphries, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our second trip to the Hampton Inn. Will be returning for another stay in the fall. We were welcomed warmly at the front desk! Lots of laughs with the manager! Thank you for such personable service!!. Our room was quiet,clean, the bed was comfy and the pillows were great. We stayed in the room with a king sized bed- lots of room-not cramped. The bath was well stocked with lots of room also. Breakfast was nice also. Love the oatmeal. My husband missed the gravy for his biscuits the second morning. We would like eggs made without cheese or milk/dairy -due to allergies to be made available. The hot coffee available is so nice too. Looking forward to our next stay--- Gooooooo Eagles- we are Morehead State Alumni! My husband and I were visiting MSU for the winter homecoming and will return for Homecoming in the fall.

Room Tip: Clean and Quiet! Choose the spacious room with a king sized bed.....Friendly and helpful service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel. We appreciate all feedback and strive to fix any problems but it especially nice to hear that we are doing a fine job.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Robert Humphries, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at this hotel - we were visiting my sick grandmother at the hospital near by and the staff made us feel so comfortable during this difficult time. There was hot coffee and tea available 24/7, Breakfasts-to-go, not to mention the complimentary continental breakfast, and delicious cookies available every day. The rooms were very clean, and the staff were so friendly and helpful- especially Robbie and Rick.

This was a lovely hotel, newly remodeled it seemed, and had a great staff. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks for the kind words spoken about the hotel. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and it feels good to know we are accomplishing our goals.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Robert Humphries, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Morehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morehead

Address: 500 Hampton Way, Morehead, KY 40351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Morehead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Morehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morehead 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Morehead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morehead Hotel Morehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Morehead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.