We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Morehead

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Morehead to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Morehead
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hampton Way, Morehead, KY 40351   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Morehead
Maryville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

clean clean clean! Even the linens smelled good! Saturday night desk clerk very pleasant and helpful! Indoor pool was great for kids! Early am staff wonderful--Breakfast was very good and plentiful--an absolute must if traveling in the area! NO complaints at all! We give it a 10 out of 5!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    39
    9
    14
    0
See reviews for
54
25
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Creal Springs, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Prettiest room! had everything coffee maker refrigerator microwave. Bed sleep great
Bathroom beautiful, breakfast good Would stay again staff very helpful

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butlerville, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

See my review from over 6 months ago. I will always return to this Hampton Inn when in the area. Friendly staff, spacious facilities, clean, clean, nice pool and fitness area. Decent breakfast. Pretty scenic area, but not too far from food, gas, shopping, university, and Walmart. Warm cookies upon arrival.

Room Tip: Sign up for Hilton Honors to receive the most upgrades and benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I liked this hotel for the usual reasons to like a Hampton Inn, but arriving late at night in the dark made it difficult to find in the web of little service roads and construction. You can SEE it, but now how to get to the parking lot since there are no effective directional signs. The young guy at the desk was also more than a little disengaged, looking down and obsessed with his iPhone rather than greeting and handling us promptly. The same guy, every time we walked past the desk for 2 days was always staring down at his phone. Hmmm. No hello's. No smiles.

Another quirky thing about this location is the rather strange breakfast setup. I don't know if this is a new thing with some Hamptons or just this one, but the vast majority of the seating area was couches and lounge chairs with a small square table shared between the couch and two chairs. There was one long "bar" with chairs where you could stare nose to nose with a stranger or two larger round traditional tables and chairs presumably for families. It was very uncomfortable and awkward to try eat sitting on a couch and a low table leaning over so far. Maybe they were trying to make it homey, but it doesn't work for me at all.

The room was fine, clean, and all other things in good order. I'd have given a higher rating if the details were attended to. This is the better place to stay in Morehead, but otherwise, this is an average hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel since on the front side with the parking lot, the lot li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Ridge, FL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Everyone was cheerful and helpful- from the front desk to housekeeping- and everyone spoke understandable english- something of a worse problem elsewhere. Good Morning breakfast was great. Room decent size and bathroom too. Everything is free of the usual worn look at so many Hampton Inns or lesser chains. The only significant issue was getting in to the hotel the firest time-- the access road is difficult to find off the main road (Rt 32)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed here the evening before a middle school band event at Morehead University. The hotel is very convenient to Morehead University, only about two miles away. Beware: I thought most/all Hamptons are smoke-free, but not this one. There were other university events that same weekend, so we unfortunately were stuck with a smoking room. We were using hotel points for a free stay, so we didn't want to go to a different hotel. Since we knew this in advance, we brought Febreeze, which did the trick for a few hours at a time, but there really is no getting that smell out of carpets/drapes/walls with just Febreeze. To their credit, management offered both their own bottle of Febreeze and an "ozone machine" to help with the odor. We would have had to evacuate the room for at least an hour for the ozone machine treatment, so we didn't take them up on their offer, as it was close to the kids' bedtimes when we arrived. Not sure an air filter would have helped any more than the Febreeze, anyway; but if you're stuck with a smoking room, you may want to request ozone treatment in advance of your arrival. Otherwise, the room was nice -- standard Hampton bedding, in-room microwave and small refrigerator. The pool was small, but sufficient and clean. The hotel offered free wifi, and we also used the computer in the business center. The free breakfast the next morning included standard Hampton fare (biscuits/gravy, scrambled eggs, waffles, hot oatmeal, pastries, cereals, fruits). The breakfast area was a little larger and nicer than most Hamptons. It's a good place to stay for university events, but reserve early if you're not a smoker, to avoid getting stuck in a smoking room.

Room Tip: If you're not a smoker, reserve early to avoid being stuck in a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beattyville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

When I was a student at Morehead State University, there were two motels -- the Holiday Inn (since demolished and was actually located in front of where the Hampton is now) and the University Lodge (downtown and now converted into efficiencies). The Mountain Lodge, located behind the Hampton, was built during the years I was in school. In the intervening decades a number of motels have been built in the 'Head as the town has grown.

Morehead's Hampton is typical of the chain. Comfortable, clean rooms with good wi-fi service. Great service. I wasn't thrilled with the breakfast choices that day but I know they do vary from day to day and the next morning they may have served sausage patties with biscuits & gravy instead of the ham egg & cheese medley they had the morning I was there.

Two complaints with the room. The first was a lack of water pressure in the shower, which is a common complaint with me as I am used to a lot of pressure at home. The second was that the air conditioner was somewhat loud, and I needed to use it because it was unseasonably warm the night I was there.

Typical Hampton means typically pricey, but I was able to use my state government employment to secure a discount that made the price more reasonable and within my budget.

If I needed to stay in Morehead again, I'd definitely consider the Hampton. I would be more likely to try out another, less expensive motel/hotel, as there are now several to choose from, but most get terrible ratings here on TripAdvisor and I'd probably opt for the Hampton if their ratings don't get better by the next time I need to stay overnight in the 'Head.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Morehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morehead

Address: 500 Hampton Way, Morehead, KY 40351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Morehead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Morehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morehead 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Morehead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morehead Hotel Morehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Morehead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.