We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable with flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chandlers

Chandlers
Market Street, Maysville, KY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Maysville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyable with flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Chandlers is located in an old building nicely redone. The room was pleasant, and the menu varied. Our salads were just the right size with fresh green lettuce, no iceberg. Excellent wine list, reasonable by the glass. My steak came out overdone but was promptly replaced. The steak was tender and perfectly seasoned. We were comped on a desert, a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“While You are at the French Quarter Inn...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A very nice little bistro. Good food, good atmosphere and reasonably priced meals. The bar is nice also with a good selection of beer and wine.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Sit Down Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The interior was attractive with white linen table clothes. The food was homemade and delicious. We had the sampler appetizer with apple fritters and deep fried macaroni bites. Delicious. My husband ordered what he now calls the best Reuben he ever had. My steak was tender and flavorful with sweet potato fries. Nice variety on the menu from salad to fish or pasta. Many sandwiches also. The prices are a bit higher than other places in Maysville, but the food quality is also better. I had hickory nut pie for dessert. Nice selection of pies and cakes.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible food, great friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

We came here due to the reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and served fresh and hot. You could tell it was all homemade by someone who knew what they were doing. The atmosphere was nice and classy as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was the second time I dined at Chandlers while in travel status. Had a great meal the first time and discovered that wasn't a fluke. The couple who own and operate Chandlers have it together!

Located in historically pictureresque downtown Maysville, Chandlers is situated in an old, gutted, bare brick walled storefront. The food and service with linen tablecloths were generally upscale, but with modest prices. Wine and a full bar are available. You won't be disappointed in Chandlers even though it can sometimes be a bit noisey with celebrating locals. But then....it is their town!

Additional Note: The Maysville Museum is just a couple blocks away. Don't miss it!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandlers also viewed

 

Been to Chandlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandlers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.