We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackburn House

Blackburn House
Boughton Pumping Station | Brake Lane, Boughton NG22 9HQ, England
01623 867540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Boughton
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Found this restaurant and had the best Carvery ever.We were greeted at the door by a lovely cheerful guy who asked if we had booked ,no we said but this was not a problem as he promptly showed us to a table.We had a drink and a carvery,i have never seen so many different vegetables so beautifully presented and a choice of three roasts needless to say we could'nt manage a desert,we will be going back for sure. :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire, uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Carvery Around and Stunning Building! - Child Friendly :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We attended here with our 3 children for a Sunday Carvery after hearing the rave reviews about this new venue. We were NOT disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was friendly.

The building itself is beautiful and set within stunning grounds. It was nice for the children to run around afterwards after a beautiful meal. The manager advised it is a grade II listed building and it oozes quality.

I have read the other reviews and can honestly say we and out children were made to feel at home and the arch windows go from ceiling to floor so I would quite agree that I wouldn't let my children play on the window cils. Not sure of any restaurant that would really???

Will definately re-visit soon

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern lad
1 review
“slow service, children not welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were a group of 7 adults and 4 children out for lunch for Fathers Day. We had two grandfathers, two fathers, and various other family members. We started off ok. We were shown to our table promptly and the drinks order taken. We all decided to go for the carvery. Tickets came quickly so went to get our meal. Thats when the problems started. The only meats were pork and turkey (sure it was chicken). They had no beef left, no roast potatoes left, a few soggy carrots, under cooked mixture of green beans, peas and brussels. This was at 5 o clock when they are open until 7. There was no cranbury sauce but loads of horseradish?????. The meal was not very warm never mind hot. Later we were asked if we would like a sweet but when the sweet board came they had sold out of 3 of them. Surely if they were expecting to be busy for fathers day they should be able to accommodate this. We asked for the bill three times, during which time the 'manageress' complained about the children going to look out of the window, and even complained again when two three year olds got down from the table again (how dare they) to go to the toilet. This time I reminded her that we had been waiting for over 30 mins for the bill, was there any wonder the children were restless. The manager? Fenando bought us the bill but by now we just wanted to leave. They were not busy and not many diners were still there, No excuse for bad service

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice welcome,but overpriced drinks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Have been here twice now,once for lunch and the last time in the evening.When we came in the evening we got a nice welcome,but the waitress did not seem to know what she was doing,ordered some dipping breads for my husband and I to share,but the waitress did not give us any plates or a knife?The drinks seem expensive,a small orange and lemonade was £3.50, and was charged two different prices for the same drink(bacardi and coke),was going to query this when we paid the bill,but we had to wait nearly 15 minutes to pay the bill as the card machine was not working so e-mailed to mention this to the restaurant but received no reply.My advice would be to check your bill.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good first impressions, lacking attention to detail.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

When we arrived we were made very welcome and taken to the restaurant by a very nice member of staff called Lisa who was very friendly and helpful who then gave us our table.
The restaurant is in a nice setting in an old pumping house.
The service was not brilliant :
This was our experience.
1. Too long a wait
2 .No spoon with soup
3. fishcake overcooked
4. Main course poor, steak was tiny and grizzly the scampi tasted like it had come from a cheap freezer shop as did the chips
5. The salad that accompanied it was a couple of green leaves no tomato or cucumber.
6 I had to ask repeatly for bread and then for butter to be told chef was busy??
My partners meal was of a better standard and the wine she had was also good.
When we came to pay we were charged for someone elses drinks which was rectified.
Lisa did apologise for the meal when I said it was not very good and I said should have mention it but when you have waited so long and my partners was ok I just did not want to wait any longer. The staff are very nice as is the venue but the service and attention to detail was not good on this occasion but we will try it again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackburn House also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Rufford, Nottinghamshire
 
Clumber Park, Nottinghamshire
Ollerton, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Blackburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackburn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.