We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner gets less friendly by year...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Cottage Resort

Save Saved
You added Central Cottage Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Cottage Resort
6/3 Moo 5 | Haad Thong Nai Pan Yai, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Ban Tai
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“The owner gets less friendly by year...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

i've been here 4 times in the oast ten years. The simple but classic bamboo bungalows are cheap and comfortable, allthough simple. No aircon, cold water, etc. Slowly but surely new accomodation has been build, in all kind of comfort levels. I guess, most of it is quite good. Its clean and ok priced. The food is ok. Their biggest problem is the owner and the staff. They lost the fun in their jobs years ago, and it gets worse every year. I would recommend staying somewhere else...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    19
    11
    13
See reviews for
9
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After staying on Haad Chao Phao for a few days we headed up to Thong Nai Pan, so glad we did. The beach is beautiful, lots of bars and restaurants without being too much. Central Cottage was better after our 6 nights Seaflower Bungalows, but yes more expensive (Had AC, Concrete rather than Wooden) Breakfast a bit rank (flies everwhere) but overall we came here for some A/C after 6 days without it and we could get in for 2 days in peak season, so we were happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend and 2 friends stayed here in June and it was a lovely time :) the staff are very helpful and the bar next door (Yai Bar) is amazing, we made friends for life!
It's very chilled out, they are very trusting relaxed people, no suspicious 'u gotta pay for this or that' speeches. Manager was really nice, quiet and helpful.
Laundry was done lovely and fast, food was great, pool was in need of slight repair but it was fun and pretty and the views made up for the wobbly pool ladder lol it looks unique anyway :) the beach is one of the best on ko phangan. Im heading back here very soon with my daughter this time :D it's a very kid friendly place away from the hype.
There is a local 7/11 and friendly cab/travel organisers.
I will not forget my experience! It is basic but it's friendly, clean and we got a pool room for
1000 a night :) the huts are more basic but with aircon, the four of us stayed in one a couple of nights 600 a night. Will never forget the huge lizard we saw and all of the cute kittens and puppys there and at yai bar.
Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked this hotel via booking.com. Actually the pics are not appropriate to the things we faced with in the hotel. Many things like furniture, door locks and interiors in general are old and don't work properly sometimes. It's not well-priced because there are different hotels on the same beach with better rooms for the same price. Showers near the pool don't work. There was a lot of sand in the room because there was nothing to help us washing out the feet. Bad smell in the bathroom was the last thing after we decided to change hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights our first night being 31st of December 2012. We booked a standard pool view room which is basic Thai style room but had everything we needed, comfy bed, hot shower, small tv with 2 British channels, a fridge and 15 steps from the beach! The beach is fantastic for swimming and very quiet, other than two jet ski's, the pool is also very lovely addition. The room cost us £25 per night and included a buffet breakfast with cereal, eggs, pancakes and fruit. The hotel arranged our travel to full moon party which was 200baht each way per person with a range of drop off and collections. They also did evening bbq's and the restaurant food was good. All in all a very successful stay!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights before the November full moon party and it was miserable. I can see how it would be a nice place to stay if the sun was shining but it poured with rain the whole time we were here so it was extremely boring.

The hotel staff were not very helpful at all and when we arrived we told them our toilet was blocked but they did nothing about it so it reamined blocked the whole time. There was literally nothing to do when it was raining and everything along the beach was shut. The pool table was covered up at Central Cottage, the kayaks couldn't be used. The food was pretty nice. You will have to pay approx 400 baht each to get here from the pier and then we had to pay 300 baht each to get to the full moon party. Don't pay them in advance to collect you as we did this and they didn't come so we got stranded!

The road to get to this hotel is a dirt track which in the rain was terrifying and we had a few near misses where the car was wheelspinning and skidding all over the place.

All in all not a good experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After our one night disaster at Candle Hut at the other end of the beach we checked into Central Cottages and enjoyed 8 nights of total relaxation in a friendly atmosphere with lovely accomodation and yummy restaurant food. We had 2 rooms in the upper level of a double story building with balconies amoungst the palm trees and overlooking the beach. Perfect for us and our 16 year old son.The rooms are quite spacious, light and airy and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Beach is only 6 metres away and waking in the morning was like waking in a tropical forest and listening to the gentle waves on the shore. The rooms were clean and very well priced, everything worked and our stay was made even more enjoyable by the friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile.
Certainly not 5 star accomodation but lovely nevertheless and well priced. ( we are fussy). The restaurant food was great and well priced with a good variety for breakfast which was included.
Sundecks on the beach were great however some looked a little well worn. Easily the best swimming beach on the island together with Thong Nai Pan Noi. We found Thong Nai Pan Yai the better option as it is a larger beach with more accomodation and restaurant choices. Also an easy walk to the village where you can pick up supplies when needed including ATM, money exchange etc.
There are also older style basic, cheaper, bungalows available but for us the rooms were perfect and more to our requirements. The restaurant area boosts some interesting collections of bric-a-brac from all over the world and is quite unusual. All adds to the character of the place. Can highly recommend this place if you want somewhere clean and comfortable with all facilities without spending a 5 star fortune.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms to the right of reception when facing the beach were great. Very private without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Cottage Resort

Address: 6/3 Moo 5 | Haad Thong Nai Pan Yai, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Ban Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Ban Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Central Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Cottage Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Cottage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.