We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, lovely people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thongtapan Resort

Save Saved
You added Thongtapan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thongtapan Resort
22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Ban Tai
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, lovely people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a beautiful location - beautiful, peaceful, amazing clear waters in a small bay. And great value. The restaurant is on the beach, and there's a massage hut as well - great traditional Thai massages. The staff were great, friendly and helpful and chatty, especially Angeline, who helped me book transport out when I left. The bungalows are nice and clean, fairly simple. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful, quiet location to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
22
60
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skien, Telemark, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

this a cheap place, you get alot for little money. Its simple and clean.. Lovely wooden bungalow. The beach is just amazing. I don`t recomend the resturant...go along the beach, there you will find a pizzeria with good food :)) we are 5 girls from Norway who just fell in love with this place :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Thong Nai Pan Noi and we had the best time ever. Thong Tapan Resort was beautiful and the staff were so friendly. We had privacy, great food, the most beautiful stretch of beach imaginable, not to mention fantastic massages right next door! We planned to stay on another beach, but we're so glad we went to Thong Tapan instead. We'll be back next year! Thanks to everyone, especially Mint - we miss you!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Clean, comfortable bungalows on a beautiful, peaceful beach. Mint, the resort manager, made our stay extra special. Her warmth and genuine concern for the comfort of her guests is second to none. We had a relaxing holiday on this magnificent beach, away from the crowds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were recommended this place by friends who had previously stayed. We stayed at a few different beaches during our time in Koh Phangan and Thong nai pan noi was by far the most beautiful, peaceful beach. It was also the best beach for swimming - the resort supplied beach chairs for residents and we were able to rent a kayak and paddle to yai beach. It was a short, convenient walk to the little town where there were many places to eat or relax with a drink. The staff were super friendly and the dogs were very entertaining. Dinner at Thongtapan's candlelit restaurant was a highlight. If you are looking for a party town this is not it, but if you are after a serene, picturesque place to unwind I would definitely recommend visiting!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrive to Koh Phangan from Koh Samui via the main ferry. The resort is on the other side of the Island and it took about an hour to get there by tuktuk. If you are looking for something quiet, with nice rooms, amazing beach, excellent food, and a quaint little neighborhood for nice walks this is it. We were there for 3 days and did not want to leave.

Rooms - simple and basic but nice by Thai standards.
Food - the restaurant at the beach is excellent and the bar tender who serves up the cocktails at night is great! The service is slow, but that's typical in Thailand.
Beach - AMAZING!! The beach is long, quiet, not crowded, and beautiful. The resort also offers free beach chairs.
Neighborhood - It is far from Haad Rin, so if you are looking to be close to all the action this is not it. You can walk into the small town in about 10 minutes where there are travel agents, scooter rentals, convenience stores, and all kinds of great restaurants.

We rented scooters and went into Haad Rin, but you really shouldn't do that unless you have experience driving scooters. The road can get very narrow and bumpy and the locals aren't very cautious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel before and it's been nice even though the hits are a bit of a hike from the beach. We came here again in march but ended up not staying a single night since we were so put off by the rude staff. In all my years of traveling around the world I've never been treated this badly. We ended up staying at Phuwadee instead where the staff was nice and friendly and prices roughly the same.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Manager at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear stalvik
We have done our investigation as per your comment. What we found out were that you and your partner walked in asking for the cheapest room possible with A/C and in hand you had with was an uncompleted quote from an online agent (800Baht). We advised that the quoted rate is incorrect, it excludes 17% taxes (this particular agent chooses to put 7% Vat and 10% service even though we do not have service charge). You eventually were very upset because we would not give you your wanted rate what worst is that you could not book on the internet for the price you claimed.
In sum, we apologies for not able to accommodate you with your requested rate if that is taken as rude we are certainly not meant for it. Moreover, comments were made on facilities that were not used but basing the rating on experiences that happen years ago. Since then we have gone under soft renovation of the rooms, extension in room size, free Wifi in public area, plenty of beach chairs for resident use only and a new addition of sea view massage house. We hope that this review is read with cautious not to jump the gun about the reviewer experience and facts.
We thank to tripadvisor for be able to express the 2 sides of the story for all the fairness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thongtapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtapan Resort

Address: 22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Ban Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Ban Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thongtapan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtapan Hotel Koh Phangan
Thongtapan Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongtapan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.