We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfekt located hostel that has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Road Cafe and Villa

Save Saved
You added Hard Road Cafe and Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hard Road Cafe and Villa
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   111 Moo 1, Ban Tai Road, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84260, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Siargao Island, Philippines
1 review
“Perfekt located hostel that has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Really nice hostel! good vibe, great crew...Has a cafe,bar and a resort so what else is there! Stayd here for 8 days and enjoyd every day..both chillout and party, what you choose! If youre in koppan check this hostel out, you will meet nice people and have a blast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    21
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
22
91
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our stay at Hard Road Cafe was the best! I am travelling for 1 month now and Hard Road Cafe was definitely the best hostel i went to. First of all the staff! Jeremie the owner of the hostel is really a great guy. If we had any questions, he is always there to help you out! Always in for a pokernight or a pingpong game! Also the facilities are great: Swimmingpool, Ps3, Pingpong, hottub etc. And of course a great atmosphere! A lot of backpackers are staying here. So if you want a hostel with a lot of facilities, backpackers, party's go to Hard Road Cafe! Also a really good price btw !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great place !! great crew, lots of fun and daily entertainment, activities and services. Everything is taken care of with good organisation. Nice place near the beach, next to Half Moon parties and 10 min from Full Moon. I recommend to any travellers that wish to meet cool people and have fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I recommend Hard Road Cafe for their excellent service, nice parties, fun activities and fair prices!
You can go with all your questions to the owner Jeremie, he will always help out.

Hard Road Cafe is close to the beach, not too far from the centre of Thongsala, in one word perfect!
One thing is sure, (alone or in a group) you will never get bored!!!

S.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at the Villa (there is a Hard Road Cafe and Hard Road Villa that are 2 minute walk apart but are the same company/share facilities) in a 14 bed room and I highly recommend it. The facilities are cleaned every day (including beds and bathrooms) and everything seemed new or well maintained.
There are fun activities offered every night as a pre-party that will include a taxi ride to the party of your choice on the island. People that choose to not party as hard will find the two pools and other activities very well suited.
TL;DR - - Great place, great staff, and there is a reason it's rated number 1 on Koh Phangan.

Room Tip: The Villa is very nice and off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We could honestly not recommend Hard Road cafe enough...We orginally stayed there for a few days before full moon last month and ended up going back afterwards for a week, and we are about to return for our third time! The atmopshere is great, especially around full moon as pre parties are organised for you every night (free body paint and cheap drinks and taxis etc). The lobby is a really good communal area for socialising, as is the pool where we spend most of our day (also next to the beach). The owners are the most helpful and friendly we have come across at any hostel, Jeremie can organise anything for you and always genuinely gives you the best price for anything he can. It feels like one big family at Hard Road! At first we thought having a hostel in Baan Tai would be an issue but it wasnt at all, taxis are always around and only 100 baht into Haad Rin and the hostel is actually very close to most of the full moon warm up parties. Rooms were really nice and clean, with air con that actually works well for once! We wouldnt consider staying anywhere else in Koh Phangan, even the food at the restaurant was amazing :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our stay at Hard Road Cafe in Koh Phangan was great! we were there in the off-season so it was a little quiet but overall our experience was excellent. We had a room with A/C and all of the services.. food, bar, pool, etc. were excellent! For the half moon party they even arranged a BBQ, body paint and taxis to the party for everyone, which was very helpful! I would really recommend this place to backpackers.. the staff go out of their way to do what they can to make your stay as best as it can be!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Road Cafe and Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Road Cafe and Villa

Address: 111 Moo 1, Ban Tai Road, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Ban Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty lodging in Ban Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hard Road Cafe and Villa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy and share your travel experiences in hard road cafe. Our hostel is situated on the main road between the 2 piers of koh Phangan. It is on the main street on the way to Haad rin when you arrive from Tongsala pier. We offer 2 different kind of Accommodation (all air con) the prices of the accommodation might change depending of the season. Now we do have 3 non air con rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hard Road Cafe and Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Road Cafe and Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.