We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it there! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Tai Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Baan Tai Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Tai Backpackers
61/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Road | Ban Tai, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved it there! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

When looking for good places to stay at on Koh phangan we came across this place and thought with such a high rating and so many positive reviews we just have to check this place out. And we’re so glad we did! :)
From the moment we arrived everything was just convenient, we could rent a scooter right there for only 150 baht a day, so it was totally worth keeping it for the rest of our stay.
You can get your laundry done right there, there are great and cheap restaurants only a couple of hundred metres away and Scott happily suggests his favorites to make sure that you get the best for little money.
He told us about the area so we knew straight away which beach to go to etc.
Our room had a beautiful sea view and it had everything we could have wished for: fridge with an inbuild freezer (awesome because that meant cooled drinks :P), perfectly functioning A/c, a big and comfortable bed (I don’t even sleep that well at home) and we even got little shampoo and shower gel bottles :)
We weren’t there for the fullmoon party unfortunately but we did stay for the half moon party and the pre party that scott arranged was in my opinion better than the event itself 
All in all we can totally recommend this place to everyone who wants to have a great time and meet awesome people, have a great backpacker hostel atmosphere plus cleanliness and comfort for a great price.
Plus there’s Newton. Newton is the hostels cat/dog/little person who’s gonna make u feel right at home :)

Thank you Scott for being a great host! Definitely gonna be back :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room with double bed and sea view but we found even the dormrooms to have all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
17
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed for one night for the half moon party and had a blast!

I met up with some really awesome people and must say it was one of the best hostel's I've stayed in. Why? Because its not overly populated with people meaning you get to know everyone and you become a family instantly.

Plus Scott the owner is straight up about how the hostel operates. He takes no BS but is also one hell of a guy. He partied with us at the half moon and was extremely accommodating!

Scott is a wee bit hard of hearing so speak up! Don't be offended if he say's "what?" its cause he's a wee bit deaf!

The place is clean and well organised. Happily recommend the place to one and all. Cheers for an awesome stay mate!

Room Tip: They're all good! Have their own en-suite as well and the bathroom is well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great stay here. super friendly staff who helped us get in the party spirit for the half moon party. We decided to extend our stay here and they managed to keep all four of us together in the same dorm together, The only bad thing i can say is when we arrived on the island, it took a while to find a taxi who knew where the hostel was- but partly our fault for not getting address details. The room was average but i would definatley recommend staying here when visiting the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel with incredible hosts. Scott is super nice and helpful and A helped take care of me while I was sick. The people at the hostel were great and Baan Tai is preferable over black out drunks in Haad Rin. There are great parties and restruants in Baan Tai. I would definantely stay there again. Plus there is computers for free use, tons of free movies to watch and beer pong if your heart desires.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Thank god we heard about this place through word of mouth because typically people stay right on Haad Rin beach. Baan Tai backpackers is less than a 10 min scooter or cab ride to the beach and you don't have to deal with the aftermath of the full moon party - but don't worry there is plenty of partying to be done at Baan Tai. Scott and "A", were always helpful and he even spent the following week with us in Koh Tao certifying us for our PADI open water course - such a great time. Not a single bad thing to say about this place, look no further, book at Baan Tai Backpackers!

We will be back! See you sooner than later Scott! This place was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanTaiBackpackers, Manager at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Best Review Ever. Period. Cheers Gabe, had a blast with you and the boys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

amazing time for the november full moon. scott is a great guy who cares a lot about his customers. felt like an old friend.
if i ever do that crazy party again, i know where to stay!

had a great room in the "honeymoon suite" after sleeping in dorm beds for a few months, me and my boyfriend needed our own room. had a great balcony and lovely bathroom. the worker who lived in the hostel, natty was amazing.

why stay in the most touristy place, haad rin, when you can stay away from all that and go down to the local resturants and get real thai food rather than mcdonalds??

great customer service, great people staying there. dont miss out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanTaiBackpackers, Manager at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
cheers for the amazing review = ) glad you two had such a great time, November full moon was pretty epic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phangan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Awesome! this place has felt like my home away from home while on Koh Phangan. Scott and A have alot of knowledge about the island and will make sure that your stay is as comfortable and as fun as possible. Scott kept us stomach's full of beer and A kept our stomach's full of food. Anyone who stays at Baan Tai backcpackers will surely not regret it and will deffinately leave making new friends in Scott and A. They also have the nicest dorm rooms i've ever stayed in throughout my travels of the world!!!!!!! Whenever i wanted fresh towels fresh sheets or a clean shirt to party in the made me feel like i lived there and i was apart of the family.

Room Tip: All rooms here are great whether your in a dorm or have your own room you'll have no issues what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanTaiBackpackers, Manager at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
thanks Paul, was great having you lads here of new year mate, hope you boys are still enjoying Asia = )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baan Tai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Tai Backpackers

Address: 61/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Road | Ban Tai, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Ban Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty lodging in Ban Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Tai Backpackers is located right in Baan Tai over looking Koh Samui. Walking distance to Black Moon, Half Moon, and Loi Lay Sunday Parties. Many great restaurants in the area and our own little bar with cheap drinks and video games for you and your mates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Baan Tai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Tai Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.