We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort in Koh phangan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Charm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   101/2 Moo 1 | Baan Tai Rd, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Ban Tai B&B and Inns
Koh samui
1 review
“Great Resort in Koh phangan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I be d'here 2 time all ready with some friend or like to visite Koh phangan and the nice Events of Jungle Experience & ......
Every one like it , nice team very friendly or take care about all people .
The resort are great nice chill place for every one , pool area - big big Beach with white sand where we drinking some nice cocktails .
Taxi service run from the hotel are easy or to rent bike .

Room Tip: tree house room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
9
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is my 1st review and after visiting Charm Beach on the 15th December 2012 I felt compelled to leave an honest unbiased review!!

Firstly Im unsure to why people rave about this place we arrived at 1.30pm with the earliest check in being at 2pm and was told that we would have to wait and hour for our room as it had just been painted due to maintenance work for the peak season, so we got breakfast ( high price for what it was) we ended up waiting for 2 hours in total and was told our room was ready.
Got to our room no sign of any paint work
* windows did not close
* one of the window shutteres closed with duck tape
* an actual HOLE in the sink and the pipe of the sink leaked water with the tap on
* half a curtain to cover the window
* and the front door didn't lock inside
After speaking to the manager we got moved to the original fan bungalow we were meant to be in this was no improvement
* yellowish water coming out of the taps
* plugs sparked when you plug stuff in
* rubbish outside our bungalow
* bed was like sleeping on a table and was just given a small blanket for the both of us
* no safe and sign in the room saying don't leave valuables in the a padlocked room
* and builders constantly working around us drilling hammering etc.
So we decided to go the beach we read so much about to just enjoy being in paradise to find
* 5 fully grown dogs that run round in a pack and actually witnessed them attacking another stray dog running it into the sea and not letting it come out owner laughed it off and said don't pity or feed dog it's all an act!! ( don't know how someone who visited in 2012 and wrote a review about these dogs as being cute puppies).. Theres even a dog we were told bites people
* lovely to know you can eat on the beach however be aware the dogs do actually climb up and surround you for food
* maintenance work continuing on the beach so hard to relax
* sand is very rough with shells and other bits n bobs
My girlfriend and I had to eat at the restaurant the 2 nights we stayed there as to get to the 2-3 restaurants nearest the bungalws by foot you have to walk an unlit dirt path that we didn't even feel safe walking through in the day.

We both didn't feel welcome here as the owners seemed to be more concerned with friends and the building so we left after 2 nights even though we booked 3 not that they seemed concerned!

We only stayed an extra day as it was sunny the next day and didn't want to waste a beautiful day and the hammocks and tree swings were a nice touch to the beach probably the only positive

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Manager at Charm Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello I remember you and your girlfriend. We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience staying with us. As we have roughly 4 weeks between seasons to do maintenance work. We try to inform all our costumers about the new ownership and the work we do here, and I'm really sorry if this information passed you by.

As for the standard of the bungalows, we have focused on the Air-conditioned ones for this peak season. We are going to start work on the fan bungalows next time we have low occupancy. We did start painting some of the fan bungalows, and that was offered to you. The reason you didn't get the newly painted bungalow at first was because we thought the fumes might be unpleasant.

Two weeks ago we had a power failure on Phangan and Samui, and after that the power company is preserving energy. This results in that our street lights doesn't work at night, and will continue be not operational until March 2013.

As for the dogs. They came with the resort from the previous owner, and we have tried to get a new home for them ever since. But for some reason female-dogs are not so popular as male-dogs. It's still one of our top priorities.

We wish you a pleasant stay during the rest of your vacation, and we hope you will return one day and see the improvements we have for this place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

at first I was thinking that my friends were kidding and there is no such thing as a tree house. however I was so wrong... I stayed in this cozy room on top of the tree at the beach. perfect location. the owner is now Swedish, he has a lot of experience on the island and he is able to recommend or help you with every wish you have.
I already miss that place. highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Paul , the wise man who has lived in thailand with a wealth of knowledge on what to do made our stay highly pleasurable. From the food to the 4 puppies and kind family that lived at the resort we were made to feel welcome and treated very well at the resort. I would say the toilets were the only issue but your in Thailand you have to live a little, the beach itself and surrounding area is very peaceful and only gets lively during full moon. Taxi service run from the hotel makes it easy to get to Haad Rin and so made for a very good stay. Paul you are probably reading this thinking who is this ?

It's Kevin , Joe , Vijay and Dan - We would like to give you a personal thanks on our stay! LAD

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just come back from staying at Charm Beach Resort, it was cheaper to stay there with a bungalow then a dormatory at a guest house nearby.... Even though the service is not that fast (they cook the meals one at a time) the food was pretty good and the banana shakes were amazing :D. The English Manager was incredibly helpful while we stayed there, reading some of the previous reviews I was expecting a completely different guy! They do have a monkey and a couple of dogs so if you hate animals I wouldn't recommend it, the bungalows are all really close to the sea/beach and it is generally quite a quiet resort (even during full moon period), however the sea is very shallow so the pool is needed if you want to properly swim. Will definitely be returning!!!!

Room Tip: Word of Advice: many people complained about the resort not cleaning your room, well you have to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Charm Beach for about a week, its a pity we could not stay any longer because of our visa. Anyway, the English guy working there was amazing. Whenever we needed any help we knew we should ask him instead since he would do anything for us, unlike the Thai usually do. He was a great help and friend throughout the stay constantly and patiently advising us on all products and in situations. despite previous comments (which I find riduclous in terms of the British manager, who is not an owner) our stay was extremely good, great customer service, perfect location and awesome set up!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Charm Beach is in a pretty great location, right on the beach - which while not great for swimming, is still nice - and a short walk from plenty of restaurants, night life and a Muay Thai gym (that does classes!). There's a good sized pool for swimming, and the Thai staff were also lovely and welcoming.

That's about where the positives end! The British owner and his sarcasm and idiocy put a damper on the rest of our stay there. We were there for a good several nights, and right when he arrived he set about weaseling us out of the room we'd originally booked into one of the bungalows, claiming that they were bigger, cleaner, etc. and showed us both the rooms.

We accepted the bungalow in the end because it had a fridge and we didn't want to have to eat out all the time, but he was INCREDIBLY smug and condescending about it. He seemed to act like we were personally attacking him every time we came to the front desk to ask a question or to get more toilet paper - they would only give us one roll at a time, and those disappeared quickly with four girls sharing a toilet, and the room was not once cleaned during our week or so long stay.

Sleep quality was pretty average because of the place's proximity to other nightlife; one night there was a music festival or something going on a stone's throw away and we had to rely on earplugs to get enough rest before the Full Moon party the following night. Of course, we expected it to be noisy, because Phangan is a really lively place!

We had to give a sizable deposit, and the bloke reassured us that we would get it back at the end of our stay not matter what time we left - there would always be someone at the desk. Guess what? No one at the desk at 7am, despite us waiting around, shouting and hunting around the grounds with at least one or two other groups of guests who were planning to catch the same boat out as us. Basically, he conned us and several other guests out of their deposits, and his general behaviour throughout our stay led us to suspect that it was a rather common occurrence.

Had we not encountered this guy, I would've been happy to rate Charm Beach 4 out of 5 and give better ratings for service, but he really took the p***.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Beach Resort

Address: 101/2 Moo 1 | Baan Tai Rd, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Ban Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ban Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm Beach Resort is a classic thai resort with that genuine feeling and a well known name on the island. The resort has been around in one shape or another for almost thirty years. During this time the bungalows and the other building has changed, but the wonderful beach has stayed the same. Today is a perfect mix of tradition and modernity, featuring AC, Wifi and swimming pool. Today the resort holds about 30 bungalows and a restaurant in the main building. One of the bungalows is set up in one of the trees, with an own balcony where you can enjoy the sunset. It also features one of the widest beach strips for one resort on the whole island. This is the place for beach activities and evening happenings. BBQ, music and cocktails are offered several nights in the week. For the young ones there's a playground in the shade, and even movie time on the beach certain nights. We hope you come and visit us and this marvelous place on one of Thailands most spectacular island, with extraordinary nature. Be sure to ask for the special day trips that are offered in the jungle, at the sea or in the mountain. There's much more to this island, beside the full moon party.From May 1st 2014 the resort has changed ownership and are now managed by a Swedish owned company. The resort is now undertaking a facelift and modernization by the new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Charm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.