We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A locals view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phangan Cottages

Save Saved
You added Phangan Cottages to your Saves list
Phangan Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phangan Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   95/7 Moo 1, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Thai Nguyen, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A locals view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have used Phangan Cottages regularly over the past two years for both business and pleasure. Usually on one to three nights stays. I find the resort quiet and good value. The rooms are small but addequate. The pool is well maintained. The small bar stays open until I leave. Location is good on the Tong Sala to Haad Rin (full moon party) road. Another good feature is that it's one of the very few resorts with a powerfull backup generator which is appreciated with the occasional power cuts.

Room Tip: For people wanting early nights. Better to ask for a room away from the bar/pool area during busy pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bourbourg, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

À friend and I stayed there for 5 night in the VIP SEASIDE Cottage.
Of course the view on the swimming pool and sea is wonderful!

The room are quiet ok, with 2 queen size bed. But there is no blanket!!!! You havé to use à big towell as blanket, unbelievable for à VIP Cottage!!!

The service of the resort is the worst i Ever seen before!! You have to 15 minutes after à waiter, d'huile is sleeping 10 meter further!!

The room has not been clean during our journey!!

The price for 5 nights: 600€ (23 000 bahts)

I advice you to go in an other place!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

Room has not been cleaned in a week, old facilities, poor staff availability, would not recommend it, not a good value for money (more than 120USD/night)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 1 night, booking at the last minute before transitioning to a new beach on the morning. The place was stayable, but numerous problems: the shower water smelled something rotten, the TV had only Thai channels (I know, why watch TV on the island, but just saying), and the restaurant and bar area had ladders and drills scattered about. That said, the pool was small but nice, which is necessary because the beach was itself meager and the water unswimmable due to water depth, rocks, etc.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Nice place to stay but takes a while to get to the Full Moon Party. When we went to the FMP and got back the following morning a good few of the bungalows had been robbed and other guests passports were robbed. No security!! Id advise staying on Haad Rin beach so you are close to your room all the time and security is much better!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was the most expensive place we stayed while travelling through Thailand and markets itself as a boutique resort but upon arrival we were immediately disappointed with the quality of our bungalow. It was small and seemed cheaply made and unfinished. For example there was a wardobe rail without hangars and two towel rails attached to the wall - this served as the clothes storage area and was totally useless so we were unable to unpack for the week we were there. Other than that the only thing in the room was a bed made out of cheap chipboard offcuts.

Other things were comparible with the cheapest places we stayed: ie the free toiletries provided were a cheap soap and the large towel which served as a blanket rather than a sheet or cover. Not really living up to the boutique resort image we were hoping for.

Obviously some of the room cost went towards aircon which worked fine and the tv which was unuseable as it only had 9 channels all in thai! We raised this with the owner who admitted the tv's reception was poor stating we could watch things in the bar- not really the point.

The bungalows are also crammed really close together - almost touching on either side and with a narrow path in between the two rows, meaning that you got no privacy and if you had noisy neighbours you would hear every word! It was also possible to use the pool area and bar until you wanted to go to bed ie all night - great if you are the one partying, not so great if you are trying to sleep!

The service in the restaurant/bar was also poor bordering on shambolic. On the first night we went to eat in the restaurant area round the pool and as it looked like rain (no umbrellas or shelter obvious) we asked staff where we could eat - no response so we gave it a miss. The next day we made another attempt to get some breakfast which was like getting blood out of a stone! The service was shocking, despite staff being all around we had to approach them rather than them come to you. The menu is very limited with only one obvious breakfast item (bread and jam) and this took 20 minutes to get! Bizarrely tea was served with creamer and sugar in shot glasses perhaps indicating how often the kitchen is used.

There was no system for recording what you ate/drank which caused issues on checkout as there was no record of our breakfast or drinks - to be fair to the owner he gave it to us free but we also witnessed other guests arguing about their bar tabs - an indication of the disorganisation of this place and the lazy staff!

The pool area had a good position overlooking the sea, however the beach around the resort was small and narrow and had rubbish on it.

I feel there is very little to recommend this resort other than its convenient location for the full moon party, half moon party and jungle experience and the fact if you are in a group you can have a pool party all night (and then not pay for your bar tab blaming it on another room!).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Having recently returned from our round the world trip, here is our review of the Phangan Cottages.

We prebooked this accommodation as we were worried that the Full Moon Party dates would be fully booked. We booked our room and looked forward to our stay. Having arrived after a ridiculously long journey on the overnight bus from Hat Yai, we were so pleased to arrive here, the cottages did not disappoint. The rooms were very new and clean and to a good standard. The pool was beautiful and the food served by the local chef was amazing value and incredibly tasty! We would certainly book here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phangan Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Cottages

Address: 95/7 Moo 1, Ban Tai, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Ban Tai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty lodging in Ban Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Cottages 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Phangan Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phangan Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.