We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Executive Inn to your Saves list
Executive Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   978 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209-139 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Afton, TN
1 review
“Favorite hotel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

I was so appalled by the poor reviews of my favorite hotel that I felt obligated to write my own. I stayed at the Executive Inn during a recent trip to Louisville and haven't stopped talking about it since. I thought the layout was one of the most interesting of any hotel I have been to...I was told that the building was an elementary school by another guest, though I have never confirmed. The room decor was awesome, like it was out of Magnum P.I.. The pool/couryard area was perfect for spending the morning relaxing, and this is the only hotel I have ever been to that has a weightroom with actual freeweights (a huge plus in my book). Top it all off with a functioning old-fashioned barbershop...what more could one ask for? Lastly, yes the service was perfect, with the staff putting up with more rowdiness than they should be subjected to. While the Executive Inn isn't the most recently updated hotel, that is easily made up for by all of the amazing extras. I truly cannot wait to get back, so much so that I am planning to spend my New Year's in Louisville...mainly so I can stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Basically, the entire experience was simply perfect.
  • Disliked — I cannot think of one thing to complain about.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    5
    12
    12
See reviews for
6
1
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Our stay was wonderful, but those bad prior reviews made me pause. when I booked a room. However, I should not have worried. I am so glad I stayed there .

The hotel is closing soon and everything worked, the hotel was clean, the beds were comfy, and best of all the staff had great attitudes even though they knew they would be transferred soon.
It is dated ( 70ish decor in the rooms), but also clean and economical, and has charm in the public rooms.
AND SO CLOSE TO THE CONVENTION CENTER.!!!! STAY HERE WHILE YOU HAVE THE CHANCE!!!!!!!

  • Liked — close to convention center, staff great
  • Disliked — decor in room was dated
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Got this on Priceline for $70/night for one night and I got HOSED! If I had used Hotwire, I would have been at the Country Inn and Suites (built in the last 3 years) for the same price -- just up the road.

The only thing this place has going for it is that it's close to the airport and it is clean. The rest? It's very old, the floor squeaks like crazy and I can't imagine that it's NOT a major fire hazard.

The HVAC is loud as heck and I got a terrible night of sleep there. My wife and I arrived at 9pm and went down for sleep at 10pm. We woke at 6am and hit the road without so much as showering. We both wanted the heck out of there!

Trust me -- try hotwire and get something 1 mile away. There are a ton of options in that area!

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed at the Executive Inn as part of the Eastern National 4-H Horse Roundup, during the Livestock Expo and Quarter Horse Show. The hotel is very convenient to the airport and fairgrounds, you could walk over, but rent a car if you fly in.

The rooms were not great. The place is kind of a throw back to the 70's with a chalet feel. The place smelled old, the windows were dirty. The furniture was beat. And yes, the carpets smelled like the barns across the road (although, WE were accustomed to this, other non-farmers or non-horsepeople might be deeply offended).

The front desk staff was good, they provided concierge service and mapped out directions for us. Decent business center, allowed free print out of boarding passes.

Room service was on time. The restaurant food was subpar. Restaurant service was slow, although the waiter was gracious, real southern hospitality. Go to Louisville for dining, it's only about 10-15 minutes up the interstate.

Must see the Churchhill Downs Racing Museum!

  • Liked — Proximity to Fairgrounds and Airport
  • Disliked — Lack of cleaniliness
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

At first glance, it looked fine but as the night went on water leaking into tub never stopped running and beds felt like two by fours, restaurant too overpriced, as well as no ice in machine and sodas in hall too much anyway. Very disapointed! Only thing positive was location: right across from kentucky kingdom but should have stayed somewhere else down the street anywhere else would have been better. Executive by what comparision?

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

It is not the Hilton, but it is certainly not the Bates Hotel either. We took our teens to Ky Kingdom and stayed two nights. We arrived, put the kids on the shuttle, and put ourselves in the lawn chairs by the beautiful pool for the next two days. How easy is that?! The pool is older, but very clean and very well maintained. The life guards (yes, a rare thing at a hotel pool) were very vigilant in cleaning the debris out almost hourly and testing the ph of the water. Had a hamburger and Margarita from the poolside bar which was good!
The rooms are older, but they fit the bill for what we needed....new tv, new tile in the bathroom and sink area, and the beds were comfy. We had a nice stay. No complaints from us, and I am rather picky about hotels. Dont look for a re-do because they will be closing in December. The fairground is buying the lot for parking.

  • Liked — location, pool, free shuttle to Ky KIngdom
  • Disliked — small parking spaces
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

I stay here with my family every time we go to Six Flags(about 8 times).We love the pool(courtyard).We're able to walk out our back door directly into the pool area.There's a bar by the pool which serves alcohol ,cokes and grilled burgers and hot dogs(priced well)The kids love it.The shuttle takes you back and forth to the park all day.There's also an indoor pool.Nice clean room every time.Friendly staff.We've stayed in a lot of motels, this one is our favorite.

  • Liked — The yard and pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Fairgrounds
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
South Side
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Preston Hwy
Fairgrounds
Springhill Suites Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn

Address: 978 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209-139
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Executive Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 465
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Louisville
Executive Inn Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.