We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a nice hotel that looks well maintained.
The Good:
Staff was very nice and helpful
Single bed room was a good, comfortable size
Small refrigerator in the room
Comfortable bed
Lots of TV channels to choose from (included a TV channel guide)
Well lit room
Large, comfortable desk
Good shower head
Awesome air conditioner - was able to get the room cold
Fast elevators
Power outlets on desk and by both sides of the bed
Short walk to restaurants and bars

Not So Good:
Poor water pressure in shower
Internet was slow
Fairly noisy from the street noise

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to let us know your opinion. We value your input! We have new Internet equipment that has made our access super fast. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
37
44
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard for three days while visiting Louisville for a family occasion. Hotel was clean, maid service excellent. I particularly want to mention the people at the front desk who were helpful in every way especially Wilma and Iman. They went out of their way to make sure that our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for selecting the Courtyard Downtown Louisville when visiting your family. Our Courtyard family takes great pride in making our guests feel at home while they are staying with us. I will make sure that both Iman and Wima know of your kinds words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was decent and we walked everywhere. We were there for a convention and the hotel was busy but the employees made sure we were taken care of. The beds and linens were comfortable. And it's the only place on a Saturday after 3pm to get a Starbucks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to make all of guests feel special whether we are busy or not and I am happy to know we succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Second year choosing Courtyard as accommodations during the 3-day Forecastle Festival at Waterfront Park. Perfect location for being in-town tourists enjoying not only a weekend of amazing musical entertainment, but to also have opportunity to take advantage of the walkable proximity to local restaurants and bars before/after festivities. So many excellent choices! Room-darkening curtains and non-obtrusive housekeeping staff made sleeping in a much-appreciated luxury. Friendly, helpful and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Main Street/North side faces YUM! Center and busy local access bridge intersection, so possibility o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
The best compliment to us is a returning guest! Thank you for selecting us for a fun "stay-cation" weekend. We have a wonderful partnership with the Forecastle Festival and always enjoy the patrons the popular festival brings. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I was in town for a business trip and stayed at this hotel downtown. The location is perfect. Across the street from the YUM Center and walking distance to a number of great restaurants and bars. The area felt safe walking back at night.

Rooms were comfortable. I had breakfast in the lobby - food was excellent and the service was fast and efficient. My only issues is that rooms are not insulated from the noise. You can hear the person in the room next door if they are talking loudly on their phone or taking a shower. Otherwise, a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for selecting us for your business travel needs. We are happy to know you enjoyed our location and proximity to so many different restaurants...there really is something for everyone right around us. We are sorry that you experienced some "loud talkers" next to you. Safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I've stayed here several times. It is always a good experience. The service is great and the rooms are comfortable. It's on the pricy side- but worth it. I have always found the staff accommodating and its close to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your continued patronage to the Courtyard Downtown Louisville. The best compliment we can get is a returning guest. Thank you for finding the value in our clean rooms, friendly staff and our location. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed here for a cards game in January and it was very close to the Yum! Center. Spending $160, I was expecting great things. It was just an average hotel that charges too much. Next time if I am going to spend that much at a hotel, I will stay at the Seelbach, 21c, the Brown, or the Galt House. Those hotel's are truly high-price worthy (and they are actually about the same price as this Courtyard). This place would be a good hotel at the $70-$90 range. The pool is full with 3 people in it. The workout facilities seem to be lacking as well. The location is good for the Yum! center and that is about it. Other, better hotels, are just a little longer of a walk. While I didn't have any issues with customer service, nothing stood out to me as being excellent about it. Save your money by staying somewhere else, or stay at a place that deserves $160 per night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay with us back in January. We appreciate your input. We find that we are an excellent value in the downtown area because we offer complimentary airport shuttle, complimentary Wi-Fi and very inexpensive parking for downtown at $6/day. Couple these savings with our location and the ability to walk to so many venues, restaurants and bars, and you truly save money when staying with us.

We hope you will consider these savings when selecting a downtown Louisville hotel and choose to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#14 Family Hotel in Louisville
#32 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.