We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 95 hotels in Louisville
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel! The location is amazing, right on the strip of restaurants, bars, and attractions, close to the trams, and close to 4th Street Live. The staff was the nicest, most helpful I have ever encountered. They would do anything to make your stay pleasurable. The breakfast restaurant was very good, and the price was right for everything. They have a tram to get you from the airport and back to it for no charge. This was one of the best experiences with a hotel I have had in a very long time. I cannot recommend staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your patronage. Our staff makes this hotel a very special place. We are pleased that you found The Bistro to be delicious and priced right; that is an important combination! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
29
38
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on Memorial Day weekend for a wedding. Immediately upon arrival at 2am, after a long delayed flight, I was quickly checked in, upgraded to a suite and settled in for the night.

The next morning, I slept in and enjoyed the soft but supportive bed with quality white linens. The room was immaculate with high end soap, conditioner and lotion samples. Upon leaving the hotel for the day for some sightseeing, the front desk staff was helpful in assisting me with any questions I had about the area. The hotel is conveniently located downtown, which is clean, felt safe and had many shops and places to eat.

Joan, a shuttle driver and front desk attendant was kind, helpful, funny, charismatic, and went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable.

Here are a few examples of what I am talking about:

1. The kitchen was closed at 12:00 am when I returned from the wedding, but the bar staff happily made me a huge order of French fries.

2. Joan dropped us off and picked us up from Melwood Art Center where the wedding was held. This is outside her zone but she helped me out anyway.

3. The front desk staff coordinated all taxi needs without fail or mistake.

4. Every staff member I encountered was smiling, happy and thoughtful.

This hotel must take good care if it's staff. It shows in their attitude and demeanor.

Thank you Marriott for a great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We work hard to provide excellent service but nothing can be accomplished without a wonderful and caring STAFF! Jone is such a genuinly sweet lady and it shows through her caring demeanor...I will be sure to let Jone know of your compliments! I am happy to know we were able to get that midnight snack for you...late night french fries are the best.

We hope to have you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I are from Louisville but we decided to get a room for the night just to escape from our teenage boys for some quiet time. The property is very nice, well kept, and clean. It is close to many restaurants and a nice lounge. We had a balconly room facing the KFC Yum! Center (Basketball Arena) and that is great for people watching. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. We have already booked another stay for a concert we will be attending at the Yum Center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the Yum! Center. Great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for selecting us for your "staycation"! We have such a wonderful city to explore.

We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valparaiso, in
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The staff was helpful getting us the rooms we needed. I'll spare the details, but we'd had a very long, stressful day. When we arrived at the hotel I was so pleased to see such very nice accommodations, and at a reasonable price. Our room was prepared just as we had requested with two cribs. We were given a huge accessible room, and extra towels. It just seemed to me that someone put care into making sure we had everything we needed. I really appreciated the helpfulness of the staff, and the nice clean room. It made a terrible day much more comfortable. If you are visiting family at the Kosair Children's hospital I would recommend this hotel. It is less than 10 minutes away, and offers a family rate. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We truly have some of the friendliest associates here. I am glad that we were able to brighten your day just a bit! We value our relationship with Kosair Children's Hospital and want to take excellent care of their patrons. We hope the person(s) you were visiting are doing well. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a FABULOUS hotel! The entire staff was amazing! They treated us like royalty! We could walk everywhere so location can't be beat-if we come back to the Kentucky Derby we will stay here for sure-this great hotel helped make our trip SO fun!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Kentucky Derby is a truly magical time in Louisville. Come on back next year; we will treat you like royalty all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camby, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, the price is reasonable, parking was cheap but not super easy to get to. The pool was nice but not terribly warm. Pool towels are tiny. I got a balcony room with a view...I was hoping for a river view but instead it was of a stadium! Breakfast not included. Close to decent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very nice hotel. Excellent location, right across the street from the Yum (U of Louisville) Arena. A number of interesting restaurants very nearby. Super staff. Courtesy car for points around downtown (didn't move my car all weekend). Had minor problem in room which was fixed immediately. Room was a little on small side, especially around lavatory. Had breakfast and dinner from bar/bistro; very good, but a limited menu. Since it was part of a package I don't know how to rate the value.

Room Tip: Low floors have noticeable street noise (but it was Derby weekend).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you had time to enjoy our pool facilities and I truly apologize if the temperature was not to your liking. I have made our Chief Engineer aware and know that he will make sure the pool is at a satisfactory temperature. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Family Hotel in Louisville
#33 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.