We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for one night to attend a concert at the YUM center.

Staff was very friendly and efficient, quick check-in.

There is a parking garage on the 2nd street side of the hotel, there is a place to pull in, get checked in and then park. Parking is only $6 per night, very reasonable.

Very convenient location for going to an event at the YUM center. There are multiple restaurants close by, within walking distance.

You are going to pay a more premium price due to it's location. Rooms were fine, clean, couch with sitting area. TV wasn't very good, many of the channels didn't work. We didn't complain since we were only in the room for a short time.

We weren't offered any kind of upgrade or perk (no free breakfast) for being Marriott Gold members, but I didn't ask for any either - again a short stay so I wasn't concerned with thos.

We would stay here again if attending an event downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing 2nd street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for selecting the Courtyard Downtown Louisville for your stay after the concert. Being located across the street from the KFC Yum! Center lends for a fabulously fun night. The buzz & business of the streets during concerts makes it fun to people watch...especially from one of our rooms with a balcony! You can't beat $6 downtown parking. We hope we have the opportunity to host you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    85
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
48
57
12
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Right across from the YUM Center and great places to eat. Hotel staff was very professional. I travel about 100-125 nights per year. when I'm in Louisville, I'll stay at this courtyard for sure. Totally impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the YUM Center. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, room was good size clean and tidy, I have to say I like Courtyard rooms better than full marriot rooms, the lighting and furniture are much brighter. Bathroom has all the necessary ameanites and was very clean. Plenty of room in the public areas, nice pool and fitness room. Only downside is no access from the car park to the hotel. It's well located with plenty of food and drink places within a short wall. On the whole very good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel staff at the desk was very nice. I used the airport shuttle, and so did my husband (separately). The shuttle was fine both times, and the drivers are nice. Housekeeping didn't always remember to resupply our room with what we had used. The hotel staff or security did provide us with what we needed.
There are only 2 computers in the lobby, with 2 more by the elevators. One by the elevator didn't seem to work at all. The other one by the elevator apparently only could be used to print boarding passes. The other 2 computers were very popular, so there was always a wait to use them in the evenings.
The room has a comfortable sitting area.
The hotel's bar was convenient, with no lines and no waiting because no one was in there. The hotel was within walking distance of plenty of restaurants, and the convention center. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I thought the price was high for the quality, and they charged my card with $600 of other people's bills. I wasn't planning on staying there again before I found the charges on my account. There are a lot nicer hotels in the Louisville area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the billing issue. If you were not able to clear it up, I will personally look into it and resolve the issue. I am sorry to hear of your poor experience. The Courtyard Downtown Louisville has been 100% renovated to the new Courtyard Refreshing Business concept within the past two years and have gotten rave reviews on our new product, from The Bistro restaurant serving Starbucks to the in-room amenities. We hope you will give our hotel another try the next time you are in Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Iman Jackson and Jone Seabrooks were the most pleasant professional and helpful Marriott Employees We Have met.
We would highly recommend this hotel!
The rooms were clean and comfortable as was the restaurant. We especially appreciated the van ride provided by Joan to and from the restaurant!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are delighted to have Iman and Jone on our front desk team. I will be sure to share your compliments with our entire management team and make sure they are recognized. Glad to hear you took advantage of our complimentary van service and our restaurant. Hope to see you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Every time that I stay at this hotel the staff makes you feel at home and welcome you with a smile. Close to everything downtown. Amy waits on your with excellent service. All of the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We enjoy having you with us! I will be sure to pass your compliments onto Amy's direct supervisor. We love that you take advantage of our amenities in house, such as The Bistro, as well as restaurants close by. See you next time at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 2,583 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#24 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#27 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.