We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, room was good size clean and tidy, I have to say I like Courtyard rooms better than full marriot rooms, the lighting and furniture are much brighter. Bathroom has all the necessary ameanites and was very clean. Plenty of room in the public areas, nice pool and fitness room. Only downside is no access from the car park to the hotel. It's well located with plenty of food and drink places within a short wall. On the whole very good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    59
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
40
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel staff at the desk was very nice. I used the airport shuttle, and so did my husband (separately). The shuttle was fine both times, and the drivers are nice. Housekeeping didn't always remember to resupply our room with what we had used. The hotel staff or security did provide us with what we needed.
There are only 2 computers in the lobby, with 2 more by the elevators. One by the elevator didn't seem to work at all. The other one by the elevator apparently only could be used to print boarding passes. The other 2 computers were very popular, so there was always a wait to use them in the evenings.
The room has a comfortable sitting area.
The hotel's bar was convenient, with no lines and no waiting because no one was in there. The hotel was within walking distance of plenty of restaurants, and the convention center. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I thought the price was high for the quality, and they charged my card with $600 of other people's bills. I wasn't planning on staying there again before I found the charges on my account. There are a lot nicer hotels in the Louisville area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the billing issue. If you were not able to clear it up, I will personally look into it and resolve the issue. I am sorry to hear of your poor experience. The Courtyard Downtown Louisville has been 100% renovated to the new Courtyard Refreshing Business concept within the past two years and have gotten rave reviews on our new product, from The Bistro restaurant serving Starbucks to the in-room amenities. We hope you will give our hotel another try the next time you are in Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Iman Jackson and Jone Seabrooks were the most pleasant professional and helpful Marriott Employees We Have met.
We would highly recommend this hotel!
The rooms were clean and comfortable as was the restaurant. We especially appreciated the van ride provided by Joan to and from the restaurant!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are delighted to have Iman and Jone on our front desk team. I will be sure to share your compliments with our entire management team and make sure they are recognized. Glad to hear you took advantage of our complimentary van service and our restaurant. Hope to see you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Every time that I stay at this hotel the staff makes you feel at home and welcome you with a smile. Close to everything downtown. Amy waits on your with excellent service. All of the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We enjoy having you with us! I will be sure to pass your compliments onto Amy's direct supervisor. We love that you take advantage of our amenities in house, such as The Bistro, as well as restaurants close by. See you next time at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a cheer competition. This hotel was very well maintaned and clean. The noise from the street was a little loud, but location is great and walking distance to many locations including the convention center we were attending. Everyone working was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Our proximity to the Kentucky International Convention Center and entertainment area of downtown is great. We are so happy to hear you took advantage. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Was here over the weekend for two nights...

Room and hotel cleanliness and overall maintenance is what I care about most in a hotel. The Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown was both clean and well maintained, so I was very happy.

Our room was decent sized, and the bathroom was bigger than the narrow ones you find at most hotels.

The location is decent, right across the street from KFC Yum Center. You have a few other bar/restaurant options right across the corner from the hotel, and Fourth Street Live is about a 7 to 10 min. walk.

Parking was only $6/day, which compared to other cities I traveled to, was cheap. Free WiFi is always an added plus.

Customer service: The employees at the front desk weren't overly friendly, but not rude or nasty.

The rate on Expedia was decent... if coming back to Louisville, I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We were happy to hear of your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown. We take pride in our cleanliness and condition of the hotel and were glad to see you enjoyed our hard work. Our inexpensive downtown parking and complimentary wifi are two of the great amenities we offer to each guest. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#14 Family Hotel in Louisville
#33 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.