We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Danville, Indiana
1 review
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a cheer competition. This hotel was very well maintaned and clean. The noise from the street was a little loud, but location is great and walking distance to many locations including the convention center we were attending. Everyone working was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Our proximity to the Kentucky International Convention Center and entertainment area of downtown is great. We are so happy to hear you took advantage. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    78
    32
    14
    4
See reviews for
40
50
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Was here over the weekend for two nights...

Room and hotel cleanliness and overall maintenance is what I care about most in a hotel. The Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown was both clean and well maintained, so I was very happy.

Our room was decent sized, and the bathroom was bigger than the narrow ones you find at most hotels.

The location is decent, right across the street from KFC Yum Center. You have a few other bar/restaurant options right across the corner from the hotel, and Fourth Street Live is about a 7 to 10 min. walk.

Parking was only $6/day, which compared to other cities I traveled to, was cheap. Free WiFi is always an added plus.

Customer service: The employees at the front desk weren't overly friendly, but not rude or nasty.

The rate on Expedia was decent... if coming back to Louisville, I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We were happy to hear of your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown. We take pride in our cleanliness and condition of the hotel and were glad to see you enjoyed our hard work. Our inexpensive downtown parking and complimentary wifi are two of the great amenities we offer to each guest. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, modern and not what you'd think of a typical Courtyard by Marriott. The staff, especially Pam Johnson at the front desk, is excellent. We felt like VIPs the entire stay. Beautiful property, great location and excellent customer service. Stop by the Side Bar while you're there. It's right across the street!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Pam is one of our greatest assets at the hotel, along with all our other staff. We will be sure to pass your recognition onto her. We hope to see you again soon at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Erin, the front desk manager, was very polite as was her staff! Checking in and out was simple and hassle free! The room had a great YUM! center view and there were attractions within walking distance. I never had to use my car and the parking garage was very convenient.

Room Tip: room 305 faces the YUM! center. Perfect room view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
The Courtyard Downtown Louisville is lucky to have Erin B. and the entire front desk staff! In addition to our great employees, we do have one of the best locations in downtown Louisville. Glad to hear you took advantage of walking to restaurants and attractions from our front door. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Last minute "drive to Louisville and check in with this client" trip. It was a very long day and I happened upon this Courtyard because I wanted to reward myself with a stay downtown where I could find a good restaurant at 9pm. Very nice little lobby and hotel. More modern and well decorated than my other Courtyard experiences (not that other experiences were bad). Right across the street from the YUM Center (my 7th floor room looked directly at the facade of YUM). Nice little breakfast counter/"Starbucks" coffee counter. Very friendly staff experience. I would definitely stay here again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are glad your last minute trip resulted in a stay at the Courtyard Downtown Louisville! Our location is fantastic, with proximity to the Yum! Center and restaurants, as well as convention center, leisure sites and many business offices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northvale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Courtyards are Courtyards, right? Not this one. In a city where chains compete with older classics, this Courtyard stood out for its service. I was warmly greeted but the front desk staff and just couldn’t have felt more welcome. Every employee I passed greeted me with a smile and kind words. Whoever owns this hotel hired the right people from manager to housekeeping. I have stayed in many different hotels in this great city – I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
The Courtyard Downtown Louisville prides ourself on our hospitality. We were so happy to have you with us recently and were thrilled to hear your praise of the staff. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We travel five days a week and we are in a different hotel every night.
Our travel agent sends our reservations to the hotel's with a faxed copy of a credit card authorization for all of our rooms.
This particular hotel evidently that was not sufficient.
We were denied access to our rooms until the only one person with a credit card arrive so they could swipe the card.
This is ridiculous what good is a credit card authorization if they're not going to use it? Everybody in our company cannot carry a credit card for hotels.
This is poor customer service poor management.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Courtyard Louisville Downtown. I apologize for the incovenience you experienced at check in because of the credit card authorization form. As the Front Desk Manager, I have personally spoken to our associates as well as management to ensure that this does not happen to you or other guest in the future. At the Courtyard we do our best to ensure every guest enjoys their stay, I hope that the previous experience does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Louisville
#16 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#30 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Otel, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.