We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and updated , helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Elburn, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“clean and updated , helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a clean and updated
, the staff was helpful. We stayed just one night for a concert at the yum center. Great location and safe. Keep your room key if you paid to park in their garage you'll need it to get out...that was a little confusing. On the expensive side and wish the lounge would have been open after the concert.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We hope you enjoyed the Courtyard Downtown Louisville's proxmity to the KFC Yum! Center for your recent concert. You are right- you can't beat being right across the street. We apologize for the confusing entry and exit out of the garage. The garage recently became automated. We will work with our staff to communicate this with our guests more effectively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    59
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
40
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The location and look of this hotel are great. Like all hotels in downtown Louisville, they charge for parking but it's covered and only $6 with unlimited in and out access. Only complaint here was the price was a bit higher than other places nearby but it's also the newest. I'd advise skipping the in-hotel breakfast (it's not complimentary anyway) and heading to Hillbilly Tea (within walking) or drive a few miles to Four Sisters.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
The location of the Courtyard Downtown Louisville is ideal for the business and leisure traveler. Along with promity to businesses, we are also very close to several restaurants, including your new favorite, Hillbilly Tea. Thank you for the feedback on your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is right in the middle of most local attractions, with walking distance to most. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of the Courtyard Downtown Louisville to future travelers. We are proud of our staff. our product and what we offer in location to all our guests. We look forward to your next visit with us in downtown Louisville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russiaville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff at the front desk were super friendly and helpful. The maid was in the best mood of any maid that I have ever seen. However the breakfast at the Bistro was slow because of a lack of staff to service all the customers for the morning rush.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I would bet you ran into Bonita, one of our housekeepers! Such a fun, energetic employee of ours- we are lucky to have her. We are glad you got the chance to experience her in person, along with the rest of our friendly and welcoming staff. We hope to get the chance to see you again in the future at the Courtyard Downtown Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There were 4 adults and 2 small children in a king bedroom suite, which suited us perfectly. The front desk, housekeeping, and cafe staff were all extremely accommodating and did everything with a smile. The only downside, which cannot be controlled by the hotel is some of the street noise, which you would expect in downtown. However, we were on the 6th floor corner room, and it seemed like there must be people drag racing on one of the straight-aways, starting just below our room. I'm guessing they were crossing the river into Indiana and therefore not concerned about police. ??? Anyway, it was minor and by no means a reason to keep us from coming back. We even got to see fireworks from our room, one night! The boys loved that. And the big "TV" in front of the KFC Yum Center - ha ha!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We love to hear of big families taking advantage of our large suites! We have seven in the hotel. They offer extra room for travelers plus additional amenities including a microwave, countertop with sink and large refrigerator. The front desk, housekeeping, and Bistro staff were happy to assist you while you were our guests and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located in such a great spot ! You can walk to places to eat and drink...plus easily catch a taxi or trolley if necessary. When we were there it was by accident that we came upon Comicon? Or something like that...we ended up at the other Marriott while we were walking around and discovered it was going on. We saw so many interesting costumes and even a star or two...was a neat experience that was totally unplanned! So you see this hotel is in the perfect spot to start your adventure while on vacation...have fun!

Room Tip: The staff was terrific and had good advice for our nights out. Make sure you go to HOWL AT THE MOON...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are so excited to have been a part of your adventurous weekend in Louisville. You are right- our location can't be beat. Not only are we in Whiskey Row, but 4th Street Live! is just a few blocks (home to Howl at the Moon) and NuLu and the Highlands are very close as well. We hope to see you again at the Courtyard Downtown Louisville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here the night of a concert and I have stayed here for business before but that was before the remodel. The lobby area is clean and updated to the new Courtyard Bistro style. Another plus is the connected parking garage that save you the over $20 parking fees at other downtown hotel locations. The staff is firendly and customer service is a priority. The Yum Center is across the street and many restaurants are just footsteps away Our room was clean and comfortable. Great value for your money at this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Our parking in the attached garage is very affordable at $6 per day, a discount price we are able to offer our guests. We are glad you took advantage on a concert night as well as for a business trip in the past. We look forward to hosting another stay of yours in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#14 Family Hotel in Louisville
#33 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.