We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Experince; Limited Eating Establishments Nearby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“OK Experince; Limited Eating Establishments Nearby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed at this hotel as host hotel, Marriott, was booked! Courtyard is convenient to the Kentucky Convention Center -- only 1 block away. Disappointed that this Courtyard had yet to receive the 'bed upgrades' that many Marriott properties have received. Property was very clean.

Very "quiet" location with few eating establishments nearby. Arrived late the first night and opted to not eat as I did not want to go blocks away to eat nor did I wish to partake in the poor picked over selections in the Courtyard Marketplace (C-store like). The next night did order pizza from a Bearno's pizza across the street from the hotel. Very good! Definitely would recommend.

Overall, the experience was OK. Wo

  • Liked — Proximity to convention center
  • Disliked — Dull location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
28
34
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

I stay in a lot of hotels on business as well as personal trips from time to time. The only thing quality about this hotel was the location. We were in town to see a show "The Tempest" at Actors Theatre. The hotel was one block from the theatre. The guy that checked us in was nice enough, it did take about 20 minutes to get checked in and we were the first in line. He had no help. I figured this would be the case because when I called the number rang and rang over twenty times till I finally hung up. We reserved a room with two double beds (#521) and the jacuzzi room on the same floor. #521 had a stale smoky smell. the hotel is supposed to be non smoking, but every room they moved us to smelled like smoke. we were moved 4 times. we finally came back to #521 because the smell was the least bothersome there. the beds themselves were very comfortable. wish they had queen instead of double.

they do have a small market where you can buy drinks, snacks, soups, and meds which came in handy for a late night snack.

they had two computers for internet use in the lobby, but one did not work and the one that did did not have ink in the printer. when i asked, the front desk attendent said that i could go buy some if i needed it. yea right!

the night attendant at the front desk was very rude. i asked for the number of spaghetti factory to call and get our name on the list. she would not give us the number and just laughed and said "i don't know why you want to go there. it is not good". she said we should go to 4th street live. we did not have access to a car and so i asked the shuttle would drop us off. she said, "you got legs, you can walk". I told her that my wife has problems walking and then she said that the shuttle wasn't running. even though i just saw him pick up a group of drunk college kids and take them somewhere.

Thank goodness the play was so good, especially the actress that played Miranda. That part of the trip made the experience enjoyable.

This hotel is more like one of those you would see in the choice hotel chain.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Night Attendant & Stale Smoke Smell
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

I stayed here for a major convention at the Louisville Convention Center in June, 2007. Overall, this is an above-average budget hotel. There are nicer hotels in Louisville, but also with more expensive prices. I stayed here for eight nights and have nothing to complain about. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, and everything was in working order. They have a small pool, a restaurant/bar (always seemed fairly empty), modest snack shop, and free internet in the lobby. Parking was also reasonable. The service and amenities were not fantastic, but everything they had was fine. Best of all, it was VERY quiet. I never heard anyone come or go in the hallways, and there is a staff member who patrols the halls regularly. Some rooms (609 for example) overlook the Ohio River. The convention center is only a couple blocks away by foot, the riverfront is a block away, Louisville's major bar district and numerous good restaurants are also in easy walking distance. Louisville also has a 25 cent trolley to get out and about. Feel free to Email me for suggestions.

  • Liked — Close to everything in the downtown
  • Disliked — Some street noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Stayed at this location in late May 2007. Parking was next to hotel. Never seen a Courtyard with this lobby style - looks new & refreshing. Room was comfortable - everything worked. Location was good - within walking distance to major downtown companies.

Breakfast buffet quality was good - breakfast service was a little slow. Staff quite friendly. Best Courtyard stay so far in 2007.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2007

I just stayed at this property for one week. The best part about the stay was the five star but down to earth welcoming treatment by virtually every member of the staff I encountered. When I went out to start my day and after I returned in the late afternoon I received enthusiastic good byes and welcome backs. (This may be why there were so many returning guests and particularly returning business people staying there.) This friendly treatment started when the shuttle driver picked me up from the airport. I was reluctant to stay at the Courtyard because I had a very bad experience at a Courtyard facility several years ago and had not visited one again. The location in downtown Louisville and price fit my needs, so I tried a Courtyard again. I was very pleased with my stay. The property is clean and in my opinion at the top end of a three star rating. Rooms and common areas are undergoing updating (unobtrusive, not noisy) that should be completed fairly soon. All of the rooms are on busy downtown streets so they suffer quite a bit of traffic noise, but it was reasonably well covered with a gentle fan speed. The breakfast food was good, and the person who made my omelet was careful to get it exactly as I wanted it. Hot coffee kept coming (even the hotel manager brought me some). If you understand this is not a fancy luxury hotel, you should be pleased with a stay here.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the quietest room they can find you
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

This hotel was in a perfect location for a conference I was attending at the convention center. The parking was so convenient and only $6 a day. They have a great system set up so that you can come and go and the total parking is simply charged to your room. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel had great touches like freshly-baked cookies in the afternoon. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and the restaurant staff very accommodating. My room was large and very clean. They were in the process of installing new carpeting. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2005

New carpet, clean rooms, Friendly staff,and boy what a breakfast. I stayed for 3 nights in feb. '05 and was truly impressed. After the first morning, the breakfast staff knew my name as well as the front desk!! A real pleasure. My family and I are looking forward to summer vacation Courtyard and Louisville!!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Family Hotel in Louisville
#34 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.