We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and conveniently located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Temple, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and conveniently located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel was very well priced, it is opposite to the KFC "YUM" Center and walking distance to wonderful restaurants on fourth street. It is a short drive to the Kentucky Derby. The staff offered snacks on check in and the digital screen with direction to local churches, points of interest was really cool.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor right in front of the KFC center
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    59
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
40
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Louisville was such a pleasant surprise! I was in town to attend a Sade concert at the Yum Center across the street, and the Sade concert was everything I hoped, but the Marriott also a highlight of the visit.

Now, nothing was knock-your-socks-off spectacular, but this hotel just got everything right. Parking was easy (friendly attendant), check-in was smooth (even if the associate checking me in was more interested in a pretty girl in the next line over.

My room was well-appointed and clean. I would have liked a bit more in the way of toiletries (more conditioner/larger hand soap) but I brought most of what I needed with me. The internet included wired (great connection). The staff seemed friendly and sincere.

If you are visiting with a special friend/partner/spouse, consider upgrading to the package that includes internet, breakfast and parking, you will save a bit and the breakfast buffet was worth it. I would even pay/bill breakfast to my room if the special package was not available.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want when you book, city-view, top floor, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Wonderful Courtyard. You can see the Ohio River from here and it's across the street from the Yum ! Center. Easy access to the vibrant downtown area. I loved the hotel; it was undergoing renovation but the staff did a remarkable job of ensuring that everything worked right and was done well. I was very impressed with this facility and would consider staying here again even in the midst of all the other excellent hotels Louisville has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Ohio River with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Excellant location to stay for Ironman Triathalon event. Breakfast is really nice. Free wireless internet . Room was very clean & quiet. Already made reservations for next year's stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel is right across from the convention center where they have sports and music events. Now this could be a good or bad thing - good if you are attending the event, bad if you are not because you still have to put up with all that noise. Our room happened to be right across from it and I could not get any sleep, most rooms by the way are on that street so when you book or check in make sure you are going to be able to get some rest.

They are undergoing renovation right now so it might be a better looking hotel in a few months. Rooms are pretty old and average. It is pretty walkable to the urban bourbon trail participating locations.

I dont think I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the street where the convention center is, you wont get any sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our family/friends recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Louisville Downtown to attend my daughter's first Ironman. Sabina Riggs assisted with locating a UPS shipment of "team" t-shirts for 2 days, even prior to our arrival. Her assistance with directions, restaurants and even providing ice for our coolers on the day of the race...this type of attention to our needs was "off the charts". Location and service were excellent as well as the rest of the staff. We will be returning next year and will definitely be staying here. I have stayed in Marriot properties for about 40 years and Sabina tops the list.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Within walking distance of good restaurants. Well kept property with knowledgable and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Marriot rewards helps to get an upgrade in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 South Second Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Louisville
#12 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#31 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.