We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Choice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 E Gaulbert Ave, Louisville, KY 40208 (Old Louisville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our Choice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stay at this hotel every time we visit Louisville, which is at least three to four times a year. We love that the nightly pet fee is so minute and that there is a kitchenette in every room. The king beds are always in good shape, even though the mattresses are a little firm for my liking. I still have a good night's sleep there, though. The free breakfast every morning is always fresh and hot. It's one of our favorite parts of this hotel! The staff has always been nothing but friendly and appreciative of our business. It's the perfect location for things in downtown Louisville without actually being downtown. It's also the perfect distance from the Mall St. Matthews, which is a hot spot for us when we're there. Honestly, we had to stay at a Hilton for a few days and we hated it. We were so glad to get out of that Hilton and into this Quality. The value just wasn't there at the Hilton. We look forward to our next weekend getaway with you!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate you leaving your review on TripAdvisor. We also appreciate your repeat business as well. We promise that we will continue to make improvements on our property so that hopefully your next stay will be even better than your last stay was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    16
    18
    15
See reviews for
15
14
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

stayed during recent gie expo very good stay room was good for this price level motel, good parking, past reviews slam the breakfast, it is inline for most motels today people expect 5 star breakfast for free. the staff and owners where great in every way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We hope you decide to stay with us again if ever in Louisville and can assure you that your next visit will be even better than the last as we are currently making improvements and renovating. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The only room I could find in Louisville due to the FFA convention in town. The only room they had left was a smoking room. The room was dirty and in need of repair/replacing many pieces of furniture and fixtures. The air conditioning unit needs to be replaced as well. I'll book much earlier next time I need a room and find another hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us Jon. You reserved an accessible smoking room through a third party website with a requests for non-smoking and upgrades on a convention week that books hotels for 60 miles so to accuse the hotel of being overpriced is reaching a bit when we were lower priced than most in the city that week. Had you mentioned any problems with your room we would have had them corrected however we were not and can not make a smoking room non-smoking overnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This hotel is terrible. It's dirty, worn down, smells and poorly maintained.
You can tell people are living there based on the strange food smell coming from the rooms. The breakfast is disgusting.
There is little to no pride taken in this property. It right next to the freeway, so it's also very noisy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for the first and last time. Definitely NOT representative of Choice Hotels. The exterior is lovely and so is the lobby but it's just a confidence game to hide the ugly rooms. The room (see photos- there are 6 in all-click more to see them) looks as if someone who had no experience attempted repairs.

There was dust behind the headboards that had teeth. Otherwise, the room was clean, the linens nice and the mattresses were very comfortable. The front desk was very friendly, helpful and polite.

The free breakfast was passable, although the coffee was colored hot water. Waffles, cold boiled eggs, bagels, bread, a few donuts, biscuits, sausage gravy, oranges. The Maggie Moo creamers curdled in our coffee.

Absolutely NOT worth $90 + - Choice Hotels should not allow them to keep the association - find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are sorry that you were less than satisfied with your recent stay with us and can assure you that if you do return you will not have these problems here again. We are currently starting phase 2 of our renovations which consist of re-texturing and painting/re-calking. Your photo of something missing is actually where we recently re-placed the counter-top with granite and will look better after phase 2 is complete. We really do feel we offer the best value in the area as we offer refrigerators, stove-tops and microwaves in every room along with Jacuzzi brand whirlpool tubs in 95% of the rooms, usually for less than our competitors which offer hardly any of these items. As always if you did not feel our hotel was right for you after inspecting the room we would have let you out of your reservation without penalty and even offered to help you find another property in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Kentucky, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We come to Louisville every year for a reunion, and we have stayed downtown, but this year we decided on Quality Inn by the University. We was very impressed with our room with a kitchen and the size of the room and whirlpool bathtub, even the water seemed wonderful, my hair was super soft! We will stay at this hotel from now on when in Louisville. The breakfast was pretty good too.The staff was great also!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate your comments regarding your experience at our property.Thanks for giving us a try also, we do hope that you decide to stay with us again the next time you are in Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Convenient to airport, fairgrounds, U of L events and downtown. Safe , secure, well lit parking and security cameras. Pool is clean and well maintained. Efficiency suite w jacuzzi and king size bed well worth the price. Sign up for rewards program and get free nights. I did. Very satisfied w staff and never had an issue for 5 weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future when in Louisville.We will continue to make improvements so that your next stay will be better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport

Address: 311 E Gaulbert Ave, Louisville, KY 40208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport Hotel Louisville
Quality Inn And Suites University/Airport
Quality Inn University Airport
Quality Inn Louisville
Louisville Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.