We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located to downtown Louisville and University of Louisville” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 E Gaulbert Ave, Louisville, KY 40208 (Old Louisville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #66 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Conveniently located to downtown Louisville and University of Louisville”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel in conveniently located to Downtown Louisville and the University of Louisville, It is
an average hotel for the price. It was clean, pool was nice, breakfast was not the greatest.
The hotel staff were very friendly and nice. Seemed like they were short on staff. Would I book this hotel again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future when in Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    13
    15
    13
See reviews for
10
13
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Oaks, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here recently for The Kentucky Derby. Rooms were very dated, but clean. Need to make some improvements to rooms, but overall a good stay. John, was a worker here, and he also drives the shuttle from hotel to Churchill Downs, and from hotel to downtown at night. I must say, one of the nicest guys you will meet....John, you really made the trip a pleasure!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkr101, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will do our very best to insure that your next visit with us will be better than the last. We are currently under renovations as each room is being updated. I also want to personally thank you for using my shuttle service that I provide for special events such as the Kentucky Derby as it really is my pleasure in doing so and we hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff was gerat at give us direcitionsand helpfull tips on what to see. The room were clean and spacious. The room did need up dateing but ever thing worked. If you are southbond on I-65 it is right on the exit ramp but it is oneway. We had a hard time getting to it from surface street because Gaulbert Ave. only whent one block so had to make a lot of turns to find it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkr101, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, as you mentioned we're easy to find if you are heading 65 south and can be a little difficult to find if coming in from the back roads or from 65 north, the best way when coming northbound 65 is to exit 133 the Warnock St. exit and take a left at the bottom of the ramp, then turn right on Floyd St. by the McDonald's and continue through the University of Louisville campus and after about 5 or 6 blocks you will reach Gaulbert Ave. take a right turn on Gaulbert and you will see us there. Again thanks for your review and we hope you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellettsville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is older and could use some renovations. Room was clean and in order. Didn't try the breakfast because upon checkout found out it was on the 3rd floor and didn't want to take the time to go back upstairs. Hotel is right off of 65 and is easy to find. Hallways smelled of smoke, non-smoking room did not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkr101, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us and we hope that you decide to stay with us again if your are in Louisville. We are currently renovating so if you do ever return we hope you see the improvements we are making to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel has been around a long time and is being updated, has a long way to go however. It is close to I-65 and there isn't any close restaurants, just fast food. Location is also good for the Kentucky Derby, one of the closest to Churchill Downs. My biggest disappointment was the breakfast, same items each day. Can't really handle biscuits and gravy seven days a week for three weeks. Housekeeping did a great job. Used the exercise room every day, and the equipment worked fine. The internet worked fine the second week after they did some upgrades to it. The two person Jacuzzi worked just fine.
So overall just a average hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkr101, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor as we value your opinion and appreciate your honesty.We hope you decide to stay again if you are in Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel staff was kind and the bed was comfy but the breakfast was lacking. No real hot items were offered besides waffles but they were good. It was an unexpected stay but they seem to be the only hotel in louisville with a jacuzzi so we decided on it. It was close to downtown and anywhere else we wanted to go but getting back on I-65 could be a little scary at night. The walls were a little thin but it seemed most people went to bed early so it wasn't a big deal. The indoor pool was a bit cold too but it was 40 for a high outside the day we swam so a pool heater would be a great addition. The rooms were clean but the wood furniture could use a bit of maintenance on them. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkr101, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your feedback. We are one of the only hotels in the city to offer Jacuzzi brand tubs in 90% of our rooms, which come in 3 different styles at this location. We do have a heater on the pool as we normally keep it between 83 to 85 degrees but even though it is a indoor pool we keep that room pretty warm so when you get into the water it may seem cooler than that due to the difference with the water/air temperature. We are currently under some renovations so if you ever return I am sure that your next visit will be better than the last. Thanks again,as we value your opinion and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked this hotel for 5 nights for a long conference and it was a POOR choice for business. The Wi-Fi Internet did not work at all. The hallways smell like smoke and the room smelled like must and mold. The bathroom had cracks in the wall, tile, etc. and felt dirty. The elevator felt unstable. The parking was poorly lit and the hotel is in a shady part of town - made me VERY uncomfortable. The highway is RIGHT NEXT to the hotel and noise made it hard to sleep. The walls are thin and I had a snoring customer in the room next to me, also making sleep hard. Finally, 2 nights I came back to the smell of weed outside my door and there were staff outside on the stoop smoking and talking loudly after 10pm, right by my window, also causing trouble for sleep.
The rooms are big and have a full kitchen - great for families on the go.
But DO NOT STAY HERE ON A BUSINESS TRIP!
Breakfast was lame. Coffee was terrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport

Address: 311 E Gaulbert Ave, Louisville, KY 40208
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport Hotel Louisville
Quality Inn And Suites University/Airport
Quality Inn University Airport
Quality Inn Louisville
Louisville Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.