We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between average and very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seelbach Hilton to your Saves list
Seelbach Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Between average and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at the Seelbach in April 2014 to visit someone at University of Louisville medical complex. The check in was fast, the room was fairly spacious and the bed was very nice. The bathroom is a bit on the small side with a step up to enter the room, which might not work for older people or anyone with mobility issues. Also, the bathroom was in need of a touch up -- the wall paper was peeling and their was a small black (moldy) spot between the shower tile and the wooden door frame.

Also, the wifi was spotty, there is no safe and no fridge or minibar. Vending machines on the floor take credit cards, There is a CVS across the street and a Starbucks on the corner.

Noise from the hall is the most troubling part of the Seelbach, It's as if your room door was wide open. You can hear every conversation in the halls, as well as people walking, dishes clanking from room service trays, etc.

There was a wedding reception going on off the lobby, but I didn't hear any of that noise in my room, thankfully.

They do have a free shuttle to the airport, which was a ice surprise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    270
    132
    63
    31
See reviews for
98
236
35
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our experience Friday evening was disappointing especially in view of the fact that the staff of The Seelbach considers itself worthy of a 4 Star rating. I agree with nadirah2014's recent critique. The public spaces are historic and lovely but the rest of the propery/service does not meet expectations prices across the board would suggest. Apparently and unfortunately while this and most of Louisville's upscale hotels have learned how to charge but not the art of upscale services. If you want to spend the money just to be spending money or to say you did this is your place. If not stay at the Hampton or other Hilton properties nearby , or similar properties, save 100 bucks or more per night plus free parking and shuttle services downtown and go have a great meal at one of Louisville's amazing restaurants in what is one of the country's most rapidly emerging fine dining scenes.
I guess it didn't help that my wife had just returned from several days in Bermuda at the South Hampton Fairmont in a junior suite for the same rate. True 5 Star service and accomodations 3x the size, 24 hour concierge staffing, full breakfast, afternoon tea, and complimentary bar and sushi from 5 until 9.The breakfast at the Seelbach was scrambled eggs and toast...

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and be sure alternatives are available if you are unhappy. Do not expect quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, KY, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The lobby and staff were great. The room not so much. The beds were too small (two adults in a full size) and there were bugs in the bathroom. I've stayed in nicer rooms for much less money. The location is very convenient to downtown and 4th street live.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Seelbach Hilton in Louisville, Kentucky, manages to be historical and yet modern. The hotel is grand, the lobby is beautiful enough to be an attraction unto itself, and the rooms are lavishly comfortable and peaceful. With the history of the hotel, I expected it to show its age, and it certainly does feel as if you've stepped back in time, but the amenities and property have absolutely kept up with what today's travelers want! I could not be more pleased with the impeccable staff, the rooms and furnishings and the location is fantastic. The Rathskeller room is like being transported to another era, with detailed carvings adorning the walls and ceiling - worth the trip to the city just to see that one room. Loved my stay and would welcome an opportunity to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

While in Louisville with friends to see a concert at the Palace Theater, we stayed at the Seelbach. The Palace Theater is only about a block away, so we valet parked our vehicles and walked during our stay. Valet parking (and self parking) is expensive, like most larger cities. Beautiful, classic lobby. The room, with double beds, was large. Enjoyed drinks at the bar before the show. Enjoyed being able to walk to the Palace Theater. Late-night room service at the hotel was very good. Enjoyed our stay and will return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is grand, the staff is lovely however the AC was way too noisy. The walls and door are thin..even the slightest laughter in the hallway was heard. Outside activities like loud music from in front of the Hard Rock Cafe was not welcomed after 9:00pm. The bathroom albeit lovely was the size of a postage stamp. The counter top didn't have enough room for anything other than toothpaste or toothbrush. And there should have been a mini-fridge in the room, which there was not. The iron stained my husband's shirt. Thankfully our dry cleaner was able to get it out! Lovely place, lovely staff....... details need to thought of differently. And acted upon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Seelbach Hilton in Louisville, KY is always a treat. Beds are divine, rooms are peaceful, the staff is impeccable. I've never once been disappointed. The Rathskeller, decorated in Rookwood Pottery, is beautiful, and I always slip down the stairs to have a peek. It's a magical room, and I'd love to experience it during an event. The Old Seelbach Bar is the perfect place to have a nightcap and a snack. The Seelbach's location cannot be beat, either. It's perfect for roaming Louisville on foot. Fourth Street Live is just steps away if you want to burn the midnight oil, and, if that's not your thing, you've escaped the ruckus as soon as you reenter the hotel. The Seelbach Hilton is a very special hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#21 Business Hotel in Louisville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#24 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seelbach Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.