We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, History, Solid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Seelbach Hilton to your Saves list
Seelbach Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location, History, Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I've been staying at the Seelbach Hilton for more than nine years. The positives are that the hotel went through an extensive renovation a few years ago. This hotel is a place with character, history and a unique character. If you are looking for or more comfortable in cookie cutter corporate box hotels, by all means, stay somewhere else. If you are an individual that can appreciate that almost every room in this hotel has different features and arrangements, then by all means stay here. The staff is terrific and accommodating the gym has been overhauled and is super serviceable for a hotel gym. Lastly, it is super convenient to the downtown Louisville businesses and attractions.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are very spacious. Rooms on floors 5 & above are my favorite as they are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    255
    126
    61
    30
See reviews for
93
225
31
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We planned a short weekend trip to Louisville, only staying one night. We liked the location of the Seelbach and the history of the hotel. The price for a night stay in a queen room was $299 which I thought was a little pricey, but other hotels in the area were in that same range and it was a special occasion so we went for it. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the valet who was quick and efficient. Though there were only steps up to the front door there was no offer to help with baggage or even a door opened as we lugged and pushed to get thru the entrance (There were at least 3 doormen standing around). This was the same when we left the hotel the next day. As we waited for the car to be brought around I watched a younger woman struggle down the steps and thru the door with two roller suitcases. Once we checked in and got up to the room we were surprised at the small size of the room and the EXTREMELY small bathroom. Understanding this is a very old hotel I was willing to give it a chance. We dropped our bags in the room and were out for most of the day. When we returned to the room and actually got into bed we realized that the “queen” room didn’t mean a queen sized bed, at best it could have been a full or a double bed. The bed was so uncomfortable that it was almost impossible to sleep for a solid hour. The pillows and bedding were just as bad if not worse. There was a lot of noise in the hallways and you could hear every word being said clearly. Again, being an old hotel I understand the walls not being as insulated. In the morning at check-out I mentioned something to the front desk about the stay and the pricing of the room for what was actually received. I was informed that at the time of booking the hotel was almost booked completely, which is not an explanation for the poor quality of the room. I have stayed in many hotels all over the US and in other countries, and have never complained or written a review. This was by far the worst experiences I have had at a hotel and it cost almost $400. I am extremely disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

If money is not an object, you will tremendously enjoy this historic hotel and all its amenities. If you want a spacious room, go for a suite or deluxe room, the standard room will be extremely small (as is the bathroom and closet). The Oakroom Restaurant is superb in service and food quality, a true 5 Star Restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I waited until the week of to put in a priceline bid and got the Seelbach. For the price ($120) is was fantastic. Remembering the rates that I was getting quoted from the HHonors line, not so much.

My room was small but had everything that was needed to make for an enjoyable overnight experience. Small issue with the bathtub drain that was fixed with a quick work to the front desk manager.

Right at the end of 4th street live makes this place ideal.

My concerns are in line with the others. The rooms aren't sound proof and although the entry, bar, and Oakroom intentionally have that "olden times feel", it didn't work for the rest of the facility in my opinion. I like new and modern, just my personal take.

I would stay here again given a fair rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Seelbach experience is outstanding and not to be missed. As a seasoned traveler, they provide the best service I have ever experienced. The hotel itself is charming and lovely as well. It is maintained beautifully and is kept very clean. Also, the location is perfect if visiting Louisville or for business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Seelbach last night. The concierge was very friendly and helpful as well. The architecture of the lobby was beautiful and the room was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to Louisville.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The lobby area of the hotel is really very nice. The restaurants and bars are good. The overall atmosphere is of a good, upscale hotel. It is also very centrally located. You can have a nice night on the town (avoid Howl on the Moon though--reviewed separately!) because it is right on Fourth street. The service is overall quite friendly (the car valet could be more pleasant but they do their job). The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable (which is the most important part of a hotel room to me).

Room Tip: Don't; be too close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Family Hotel in Louisville
#23 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seelbach Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.