We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest Quiet Hotel Around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seelbach Hilton to your Saves list
Seelbach Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Naples, United States
1 review
“Noisiest Quiet Hotel Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Seelbach is beautiful. Really a nice place. It's generally a very quiet hotel. Most of the time you can hear a pin drop in the rooms. However, because it's an old hotel, it's not terribly sound proof. If you are lucky enough to wind up near an elevator, you'll hear people coming and going all night. Even low conversations sound like there right in your room. Not to mention the elevator bells and other sounds that conspire to give you a less than restful night of sleep. Also, the staff is very kind, but they seem to miss the mark often. I asked a valet how to get to the garage from the direction I was pointing and his entire answer was, "you can't." I asked a woman at the front desk if the Mexican restaurant up the street was good, she said, "yes." I walked in the bitter cold, only to find out it was closed for remodeling. These experiences weren't unique. It's a very nice place, but if rest is important to you, for the price, I'd go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    260
    129
    62
    30
See reviews for
95
230
32
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was my first visit to the Seelbach hotel. Very beautiful and historical. We were on the 8th floor. Enjoyed the comfortable bed and linens. The staff was courteous. My daughter and her husband stayed on the 2nd floor and their room was much bigger. No complaints..love historic old hotels.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Service was fair but not great, gym was out of service do to a broken water pipe and room was noisy. The hotel is beautiful and grand! The location is great, plenty of great restaurants, bars and museums within walking distance of the hotel. Had the gym been open I would have given much higher reviews. It was very frustrating since it was so cold while I was there and I didn't have any other options. I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a colorful past. It is only in the last few years I learned of the ghost sightings and the ties to gangsters during prohibition.

Corner rooms (800) for Hilton Honor members and (717) offer a bit more space. Concierge suite is my preferred breakfast area. The staff is accommodating and always a pleasure. You have to stop in the bar and try a flight of bourbon, a Louisville tradition!

Unless you need a car, utilize the courtesy shuttle which saves time and parking fees. The garage is behind the hotel but be advised the rear doors are locked after 11 pm if you are not all ready checked in with a key card. You will have to walk around front. My recommendation is to use the valet for late night checkins. The hotel is close to bars and restaurants. Try Proof for a foodie experience and Sidebar or Bistro301 for a casual experience.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, away from the elevator and 717.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

One of the best preserved historic hotels I have been too. The hotel front desk staff went out of their way to make our stay better. In general everything was great with excellent service in the bar and the Gatsby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The best location, service, and rooms! This place is the best hotel in town and is the only place I will stay when in Louisville. From the beautiful bar in the basement to the helpful staff who is more than willing to meet even your smallest need, this hotel is doing everything right. The location is tremedous and very close to great dining and down town attractions. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Parking is ample and reasonably priced for a down town hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Amenities, appearance, cleanliness, and friendliness of staff were all great. Overpriced mainly for history and tradition of hotel. $800 for two nights for a room that I barely fit in. "Executive Queen Suite" was smaller than average Double at regular Hilton. Very upscale though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Family Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seelbach Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.