We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast from the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seelbach Hilton to your Saves list
Seelbach Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Loved this Hilton. Takes you back to the old days in it's design but is very much up to date, as you would expect, in all other aspects.
Good location and the food was superb.
Staff extremely helpful.
Loved it !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    290
    142
    68
    31
See reviews for
107
256
36
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights last week during a business trip. I really like old-school hotels, and the Seelbach has that in spades. I am also a Hilton HHonors member, so a bonus.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, from front door to desk to housekeeping. The room I had was small and efficient, but warm and welcoming. I had plenty of room for my belongings and enough room in the bathroom for all the basics.

They were under construction on a new restaurant on lobby level, so a bit noisy...hopefully it will open in time for their holiday business. I didn't check out the fitness room, so can't comment there. I was on an executive floor (Hilton points!) so ate breakfast on the 7th floor, and the server was friendly and engaging.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting Louisville, even with its close proximity to the tourist-infested Fourth Street Live (not my bag, baby).

The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the airport and surrounding area, nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have a special place in my heart for the grand old hotels.
You will have to put up with some things that a hotel this age
cant really do anything about- small bathrooms for one,
but overall this is a gem.
I have never had any sound problems. The bar is a nice spot.
The beds are excellent. Our room was spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

No internet without pay. Rooms are tiny and not sound proof ..heard all of neighbors argument, make up sex and snores...smells of old cigars and musty. Huge spider web in ceiling corner. Disappointed for the price and location

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Seelbach earlier this month for a conference. While I love grand, inner city hotels, it's sort of a crap shoot if they provide all the modern conveniences of a generic, modern hotel in the suburbs. I need not have worried about the Seelbach. It was a very pleasant experience. The public spaces are grand (check out the Rathskeller in the basement even if you don't have a function there), the guest rooms and bathrooms are as comfortable as in a hotel built 15 years ago. Yes, the bathroom is smaller than in a hotel in the suburbs, but it more than made up for that by being a well-designed space with more than ample water pressure and hot water. If you have business in downtown Louisville by all means, stay at the Seelbach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paeonian Springs, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great old hotel. I should qualify that I like historic hotels and that ole' fashion-ness may not appeal to all. The room was huge and the bathroom very very tiny ( I don't know if every room is the same). Still - the beds were very cozy, the rooms quiet, the lobby pretty and the location favorable. The staff was eager to please and I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom in your particular room...my bathroom;s shower was maybe 3.5 square and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here with my mom and her good friend on October 4, 2013, for one night. I work for Hilton, and got a fabulous deal. However, this hotel is worth every penny one would pay.
I wanted to make sure that my mom and her friend, who would be arriving several hours before me, could check into my room, using my discount. David at the front desk worked so wonderfully with me over the phone, I faxed over a few bits of information, and the other girls were able to check in early, around 10am (working in a hotel, I can tell you that early checkin-ins can be difficult to accommodate)!!
We had a wonderful dinner, and followed up with drinks a few blocks away. Walking back, we walked through Fourth Street Live! One of the entrances sits about 500 feet away from the hotel. I wish that I had not had to be at work early the next morning in another city, as I would have had us all go out there! Our room was near Fourth Street Live, and we did not hear a single peep of noise. It was fabulous.
The decor is to-die-for. The owners have really done a great job of keeping the original feel of the hotel. The elevators are absolutely fabulous. If you get a chance to walk downstairs and check out the Rathskeller, it is one of the most interesting rooms (for wedding receptions, balls, etc.) you will ever see.
We would all return and would suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#22 Family Hotel in Louisville
#23 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seelbach Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.