We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel/mediocre service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Save Saved
You added Seelbach Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seelbach Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Portland, United States
1 review
“Beautiful hotel/mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This landmark hotel is ideally located on 4th Street in the heart of the city. The lobby and public areas are beautiful. Our room was small with no reading light on one side of the bed. A/C either blasts cold air or nothing. Windows do not open. Bar service was spotty and indifferent. We had to ask twice about our food order, no bread or water was offered. We were here for a family wedding and the Fitzgerald Suite is a lovely place for family and friends to gather. The wedding on the 10th floor was exquisite and the wedding dinner was delicious. Overall the service (other than wedding staff) was pleasant but not overly helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    229
    111
    50
    27
See reviews for
85
190
30
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great Hotel for business and fun! Staff was excellent and very informative. The Oak Room restaurant was one of the best dining experiences I've had. The only 5 Diamond restaurant in KY. The location was within walking distance of a lot of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We didn't stay at the Seelbach while in Louisville but we did stop by as part of the Urban Bourbon Trail (which is an excellent marketing tactic by Lousiville! We had so much fun getting our passports stamped AND we got a free t-shirt and certificate at the end of it!) The Seelbach bar is quiet and dignified and the bartenders are extremely knowledgable and helpful. We stopped by for a second visit the next day because it was so nice. If we ever find ourselves in Louisville again, I would stay at the Seelbach based on the experience we had in their bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you are a fan of historic hotels, as I am, this hotel is not to be missed. It is simply beautiful, overflowing with history. We had a great stay, ate in the fabulous Oakroom restaurant and had bourbon in the historic Old Seelbach bar. Although the surrounding area is lively and full of bars and restaurants, you never have to leave the property. The best place to stay in Louisville (with the Brown Hotel down the street a close second)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Seelbach hotel is an old, old, old buildng situated right across the street from 4th Street Live. The location is great and the decor in the hotel is timeless.

I attended a conference at the hotel and was very glad I did. Despite the age of the building, the lobby, rooms, and hallways are up to date and spacious. The elevators work surprisingly fast, there are only two elevators serving 10 floors. I rarely had to wait more than minute for one.

The food from the room service wasn't the greatest. I was also a little sick at this time, so my appetite may not have been the greatest. But I purchased a bowl of chicken pasta for $20, ended up being $32 after taxes and tip applied. I would have expected better.

They have a high end restaurant in the lobby to (the Oaks I think). I didn't eat there because it was pricey for a meal (~$50/plate), but the sign said it was the only 5 diamond restaurant in Kentucky.

Cons: I had fruit flies in my room for some reason. That kind of stuff doesn't really bother me, and there were only a couple. There was also a beat up mini-refrigerator left outside of my room for a day or two. Not sure why it was there.

Overall, great hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The Seelbach charms from the lobby, but rooms fall flat on their faces. Most of the are extremely small and a bit time worn. Bathrooms feel very standard, and are downright difficult to navigate. Don't plan on using a counter because there isn't one.

We stayed on the concierge level floor, and the concierge lobby was nice enough. Again, it was dated, but the offerings matched the value.

We also ran into problems with the AC. We could never cool our room under 74.

Stay at a more modern hotel and pop in to admire the grand stairway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm a Diamond with almost 3 million points.... loyally stay in Hilton properties more nights than I want to think about... stayed here before... beautiful property but still don't understand why they nickel and dime their loyal guests.... continental breakfast is included for honors guests and they charge $3.50 extra to upgrade to full buffet... which the front desk had no idea it was available... because I did ask once when checking in why buffet was not included for Diamond... and then when I called to ask again when I got to the room why it wasn't included... they never volunteered you would pay only $3.50 for the buffet.... which brings me back to the original point... why not raise the room rate by $3.50 and include the full buffet??? instead of nickel and diming loyal guests who you want to make feel they are special..... include it... flaunt it.... tell the Honors member how special they are and full buffet is on them! also note... concierge level closed on weekends and be prepared that some bathrooms are smaller than a closet!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#20 Business Hotel in Louisville
#25 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seelbach Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.