We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh.....if only those walls could talk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seelbach Hilton to your Saves list
Seelbach Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Dallas, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oh.....if only those walls could talk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ohhhhh, if only those walls could talk! Take a step back in time and imagine you are in the glamorous era of flappers, zoot-suits, and prohibition! This is the hotel mentioned in the book "The Great Gatsby". I was overwhelmed when I walked into The Seelbach Hilton for the first time. The Seelbach brothers spared no expense in this fabulous downtown Louisville hotel, built in 1905 to reflect all the glamour of that era.....gorgeous crystal chandeliers, winding staircases, elaborate woodwork and eye-catching architectural details. Every common area is so glamorous and detailed it's hard to drink it all in. Even the elevators are the original small wood encased boxes compared to newer hotels, but lends to the overall flavor of a by-gone era. Presidents, dignitaries and the infamous (gangsters!) have all been guests here giving the guest rooms, dining areas and event areas even more mystique. The Rathskeller Room in the basement has been kept in the same dark, lowly lit vast event hall as when it was a 'speakeasy', including the side entrance door with a 'peeking window'. Awesome leather and painted designs on the ceiling, copper-topped bar, and pelican-carved columns reaching to the arched cathedral sectioned ceiling. My business colleague and I ate in the Oak Room....fantastic food, extensive wine list, and unmatched service. Otto's breakfast bar has everything from healthy fare to the heartier, made to order bar, and a la carte menu. My favorite was the Old Seelbach Bar with its 44 brands of bourbon (yes, I sampled!), and a special Kentucky blend beer that my colleague agreed was the best beer she's ever had....and great angus burger! This Bar is on the Urban Bourbon Trail of the 50 best bars in the U.S. I can't say enough about the service from the front desk staff to the food servers. There is a Starbucks and a gym for guests on site too. My room was tastefully appointed, clean and cozy for the frequent business traveler. We walked thru downtown to the river front and could see Indiana, which is a stones-throw across the bridge, cool! Check out the beautiful hotel photos on their website.....I wish I had had more time....I could live there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    262
    130
    62
    30
See reviews for
95
232
32
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful, in a great location, and the staff is extremely great/accommodating. The items severed at the morning brunches were amazing. However, the price is just ridiculous even for the Kentucky Derby event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for the Kentucky Derby week. The common area & service was exceptional. The location was also great-downtown right off the 4th Street Live area. The Oak Bar was really lively & a lot of fun. The Oak Room restaurant was also very good. We had a Jr. Suite on the 2nd floor. To say the rooms are dated & obsolete is an understatement though. The bathroom was so small that it was the size of a small NYC apartment bathroom--single sink, about 12" of counter space, no cabinets or shelves. Dated bath tub & low end plumbing fixtures. The sitting area had no tv(I've never had a suite w/o a tv in the sitting area). Very low end furniture. The bed was comfortable & the bedding/pillows were top of the line. Also, heard banging a lot at night while trying to sleep--sounded like pipes, but the mgt. said it was a service elevator. After we complained, it got better on subsequent nights, but still pretty bad. For the price we paid, definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have high ceilings & stay as far away from 4th St. as possible to minimize noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
college station, texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful staff, very helpful at all times of the day or night! I was at a conference at the hotel and all of the food was very very good, from the buffet breakfast to the sit down banquet. I was a bit disappointed that there were not better views out the hotel windows, but the hotel is very old and historic and the downtown built up around it! Great location, right next to 4th street live, right down from the river and all the museums! The room were as expected, a bit smaller than usual, unless you have spent time at older historic hotels! Much great history here and the staff are well-versed and happy to let you know about all the history!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the best views (although not many!) and for a corner room or one of the larger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for restaurants and attractions. The hotel is old but charming. The staff here are wonderful and sincerely want you to have a wonderful time.
The rooms are very small and unfortunately you can hear nearly every noise from the room next door and from the hallway.
The Oak Room Restaurant is lovely and would recommend a meal here.
Peter at the front desk is excellent - we had a few small problems that he took care of immediately. Thank you.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, TN, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Seelbach represents a trip back in time but with modern ammenities. The staff was courteous and helpful. The location near 4th Street Live made it convenient as well. My wife had stayed here before and were welcomed warmly along with my children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Call it my lack of appreciation for a 100 year old hotel. The rooms are okay but I'm just not a fan of old furniture and old carpet. The building seems haunted but that's what people seem to enjoy. The housekeeping staff could definitely do a better job. One the flip side, the hotel is in an excellent location. It's in the heart of 4th Street Live!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#24 Family Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seelbach Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.