We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seelbach Hilton to your Saves list
Seelbach Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Louisville, KY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I will start by giving some benefit of the doubt to the fact that is was a busy New Year's Eve stay. That has nothing to do with the quality of the room I was originally given at check-in, however. I was given one of the "pure allergy free" rooms. If it costs more, it must be better, right? Couldn't be more wrong. The room smell was rancid, hard to explain but I within seconds I could not stay. The desk was very accomodating in moving me to another room, just a little larger than a broom closet. Again, I understand that is was New Years, but being a Hilton Diamond member, I expected a little more. I also understand that is an older, historic hotel, which is part of the charm, but for the price, I will be sure to stay at the Brown in the furture. I had to move my own luggage and no one attempted to check if the accomodations were better. To add insult to injury, the rate I paid was not adjusted when moved to a "non pure allergy free" room (about a $20 difference). This just was not close to a 4 star experience. Take it from this frequent traveler, chose another downtown Louisville location, especially on New Year's Eve. As another traveler stated, I am not impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandt F, Manager at Seelbach Hilton, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear freqtraveler57,
In reading your review of your New Year's Eve experience at the Seelbach Hilton, it looks as if we helped start your 2013 in less than stellar fashion, and please accept my apologies for the guest room concerns you have outlined. As a loyal Hilton Diamond member, you are certainly valued within the Hilton family as well as the Seelbach. For many guests, the Pure Room experience is beneficial, however I would appreciate the opportunity to at least refund the premium paid for the room and also to have you return, giving us another opportunity to have you experience the Seelbach in a better light. Your review suggests you are in Louisville, and perhaps there will be another downtown event where I could help with overnight accomodations. At your convenience, please contact me to discuss how I might assist. Best regards for the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    260
    129
    62
    30
See reviews for
95
230
32
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in the bar for a drink. Much older crowd, whic is fine. No mint for mint juleps, did not know what prosecco was, out of the champagne i ordered, not very friendly. Hotel lobby very pretty. Ended up with an old fashioned.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The location is excellent. The staff was great! Everyone was very helpful and nice. The decor is dated but appropriate for this hotel. Room size was excellent. We were upgraded to a very nice suite. The shower is really my only complaint. The shower head was broken and would not stay in a fixed position and the water options were either scalding or cold. Had breakfast at Ottos cafe food and service were good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Came to Louisville to go to actors theater and have some Christmas cheer as a family. Decided to spend the extra and book the Seelbach as I thought I'd show the kids where we had our wedding reception "back in the day."

Hmmm. I am writing this after not sleeping a wink. The heating and air conditioning units clunked on and off all night long. The room is tiny and not so great. Bed is tiny. No water pressure in the showers. No view.

Sorry Seelbach. Won't do again. Should have kept my good memories.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandt F, Manager at Seelbach Hilton, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear franmom,
I read your Trip Advisor reveiw with much frustration and dissappointment, particularly as it was such a great opportuntiy to exend those pleasant memories from your wedding reception to your children. This is not the the 4 diamond experience we strive to provide our guests, and I appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. With the history and ambiance of the hotel, comes the continual challenge of maintaining the systems and keeping her humming well.
It would be my pleasure to talk with you about your stay and how I could assist in a future stay at the Seelbach and redeem ourselves with your family. Tradition is certainly important at the Seelbach, and I would hate to have yours end on such an unpleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I had a last minute opportunity to visit Louisville and was curious to stay in this classic hotel. The extremely elegant lobby, while small, reminded me of some of the other grand older properties that are now part of the Hilton family. If you're used to staying only in newer or completely remodeled hotels, it would be smart to adjust your expectations in terms of room size and hallway noise. But the furniture, bedding, and decorations have refreshed while still maintaining the early 20th century charm. I came here more for the location, but I'll return for the ambiance.

Room Tip: I asked for a higher floor room far away from the elevator and they found me a really quiet end room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Have always wanted to stay at the Seelbach. Got my chance visiting my dad at the end of November. The only thing more impressive than the hotel was the staff. I wish I had gotten their names, but I was tired and it just slipped my mind. If management sees this review, whoever was staffing the hotel the Friday/Saturday after Thanksgiving should be commended. The location cannot be beat if you want to do downtown. I could just park my car and walk where I wanted to go. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Im normally not a fan of older hotels but this was an exception. The staff was REALLY friendly and helpful. My room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small but not enough to really complain. There are plenty of eateries and bars within a short walk. And, if that's not enough, they have several EXCELLENT eateries within the hotel. Not normal hotel food... REALLY EXCELLENT. If you like dessert, I would suggest the Bread Pudding

Room Tip: If you are superstitious or just plain afraid of "ghosts" (YES, I AM ONE OF THOSE !) A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Family Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seelbach Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.