We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gallo Rosso - CLOSED

Le Gallo Rosso
1325 Bardstown Rd, Louisville, KY 40204-1319 (Highlands)
502-473-0015
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Highlands
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Dined here with a friend on a Saturday evening. Didn't have reservations, but we were seated after a short wait. A small basket of french bread slices is served with an olive oil and red pepper pesto. The bread was only OK, saved by the pesto. I had the spaghetti and meatballs and substituted the walnut pear salad for the Bistro (house) salad. Fig vinaigrette dressing was interesting and made for a nice combination with the sugar coated walnuts, gorgonzola and thin slices of pear atop mixed field greens and lettuce. The spaghetti and meatballs was good. The two large meatballs had a mozzarella cheese filling. There was enough to take home and have leftovers the next day. My friend had the chicken marsala, which was very good. The restaurant is small, in a house that is also a B&B, and has a relaxed atmosphere. Do not be in a hurry dining here- the food arrives at a leisurely pace.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We went for my birthday on a weekend night. The place was packed and a bit noisy, but that's to be expected as the seating is very limited. It definitely has a laid back family atmosphere.
I had the lasagna (it was HUGE, and delicious!) and a caesar salad. (I didn't care for the salad)
We tried the cheese stuffed meatball, but would probably not get it again. It wasn't bad, but everything else was so much better.
John loved his veal parmasean. We got dessert at Cafe Metro (always a good choice!)
Our server was very friendly and helpful. It was a lovely evening.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Food Value in Louisville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Tucked into a small house along Bardstown Road in Louisville's most eclectic area, this geniune Italian Restaurant is wonderful place for a relaxing meal.

The menu has much to offer, and the night we were there, they had a Sea Bass special, a Salmon special and a Veal special. Highly recommend the Antipasta appetiser and the Spaghetti and Meatball main course....the aboslute best meatballs I've ever had, and they are huge.

The atmosphere was very warm and clean. Table spacing is ideal in that guests at each table can have fun without disrupting other guests.

The service was excellent as well....very knowledgable and patient...we were well taken care of but not pestered.

We walked to the restaraunt, so I'm not positve about parking. I am going ot assume that they have parking around back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“If only there was al fresco dining...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The food was superior: well prepared and inventive. The service was friendly and knowledgable, and the atmosphere was most relaxing. If we could have eaten outdoors that evening, this would be a 5 star review!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a seriously comfortable place to enjoy a leisurely dinner. The atmosphere is upscale casual, very relaxed and the food is quite good. The service is attentive but not intrusive, and they do not seem to mind if you linger awhile. Overall , probably the best Italian experience in Louisville.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gallo Rosso also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gallo Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.