We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, dynamite service, and location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Brown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Louisville, KY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, dynamite service, and location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

I've stayed at the Brown a number of times for both leisure and business purposes and I'm always happy with it. This last stay may have been the best ever. Every single member of the staff I dealt with was excellent--friendly and professional. The beds are fluffy, there are six(!) pillows on the king-sized beds, and when I had a minor maintenance issue in my room, it was resolved right away. It's a wonderful home away from home.

The location is terrific, in the heart of downtown Louisville, with a lot of fun, casual local restaurants in the same block (and some chain restaurants a couple of blocks away). Easy walk to a whole spectrum of different entertainment options, from opera to nightclubs to art galleries.

The hotel's fine-dining restaurant, The English Grill, is one of the best in the city. They source at least some of the food locally, and the wine pairings are killer!

Often, on Saturday nights, you'll see wedding parties in the hotel, which is a lot of fun -- everyone all dressed up and giddy. All in all, the Brown is a charming, elegant place to be.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    214
    78
    21
    17
See reviews for
99
276
41
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Have a drink in the beautiful, historic lobby, but don't stay here. The carpet is threadbare, the wallpaper is peeling, the linens are very old.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

This about the third time staying at the Brown (I believe) and it always is a good choice.

Elegant, historic hotel in the downtown area and within walking distance of some great bars and restaurants.

Had dinner at the Sports & Social Club and enjoyed many Sunday NFL games.

The rooms are very nice and I recommend an inside room which are quieter and away from most of the street noise.

A excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

My husband and I just got married on October 24 at the Brown Hotel. We had the most exceptional woman we called our "head hancho" taking care of everything. She took care of everything from booking us all the way to becoming our new life-long friend. Her name is Jeri Stewart and she is fabulous. The ceremony room was perfect and the reception hall was gorgeous. Overall my husband and I sum up the entire evening as perfectly unforgetable. Our hotel room was very clean and had a warm sense of welcome written all over it. Everyone we came in contact with was curteous and always willing to help. Although it might take a while to check in/out it is more than worth it. I just want to say thank you again for a wonderful night we will NEVER forget!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed at this hotel and it was very nice. Our room was a little bit small but the atmosphere was very nice. The closed and latched bathroom door kept opening during the night and another party in our group kept seeing their bathroom door knob handle turn by itself.

I recommend this hotel even if it could give someone the heebie jeebies. If there was a ghost they didn't bother anyone.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We recently attended a large, three day wedding event. It was wonderful! The location of all the party rooms was ideal and closely connected. The lobby was drop dead gorgeous and very conducive to meeting up with friends or cozying up with a book or game of chess in between parties. Particularly appealing was the sound of live piano throughout the hotel. The maid service encountered in the hall were all very pleasant and greeted one with a smile and our room was well appointed and historic in atmosphere. We were very impressed with the establishment's ability to handle the massive amount of organization needed for handling a room flip between the ceremony setting and the following dinner party. A cocktail party in a second lovely room kept everyone entertained and the switch was completed in a timely manner. And hats off to the young woman who was so accommodating in fetching me a to-go coffee one morning. You would have thought I had ordered a 5 coarse dinner with the kind time and attention to securing cream and sugar. It's all in the details that make a hotel guest feel pampered. The Brown Hotel remains on my favorite list of fabulous hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevier co. tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip to Louisville, KY this past weekend. We have not been married long, and we have yet to take a get away trip, so we decided that treating ourselves to a nice hotel would be part of the trip. We looked online, and we found The Brown Hotel. We were put off, at first, by the price of the hotel. Seeing that we do not often go out to do things like this, we figured splurging would be ok. I must say, I was impressed by the hotel. It was pretty, the staff was friendly and did everything they could to help and answer our questions.

The hotel was clean and I am not sure what anyone means by the smell. It is an older hotel, so there are lots of older pieces, and yes, the television was old, but it wasn't unwatchable. it took us a minute to figure the entertainment stand that it was contained it, but the tv did slide out and swivel (sp?) on a platform.

We absolutely loved the experience we had at The Brown. It is rated 4 diamonds by AAA, and we feel it lives up to the standards. I know that compared to some it is an outdated hotel, but the nostagia of it is what makes it an experience to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.