We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Hotel to your Saves list
The Brown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Brown Hotel Package
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Chester, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth a stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed at the Brown while attending a concert in Louisville. Very convenient location to walk to the Yum Center and other venues in downtown Louisville. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to any needs that we had. Had a chance to visit the bar after the concert, drinks were fantastic and the bar environment was very cozy. The beds are also very comfortable, would definitely stay at the Brown again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Always good to hear that the location is great, the drinks are fantastic and the beds comfortable.
Please let me know when your travels next bring you our way and I’ll block a nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    260
    85
    21
    18
See reviews for
118
340
47
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed overnight and also held a business meeting at the Brown. Sleeping rooms are lovely. Staff is very accommodating. A 'must have' is the Hot Brown sandwich. If you've never experienced it before, have a taste of Louisville! Had a great time at the piano bar. Took the shuttle to/from the airport. Very easy. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Having been an event planner for more than a decade and coordinating dozens of large events in DC, and Charleston-The Brown Hotel's staff exceeded my expectations in every corner. Their event staff new their venue inside and out, was responsive to last minute needs, courteous, and worked the long hours of our conference right beside their staff for 4 days on the heels of hosting the PGA. They were always there with a smile and reassuring word when things got crazy; the food was better than most banquet food I have had; the banquet staff kept all of our rooms refreshed and cleaned in between each session and the housekeeping staff did a marvelous job. The valets were always friendly and went above parking cars to help our attendees and staff find restaurants for dinner on a quiet Sunday evening when most restaurants in the area were closed. I can't say enough good things about this hotel as both a place to stay (they were equally as great when I came down on a planning visit for walk through and stayed as a guest for 2 nights), and they were fantastic with a group of several hundred. The hotel itself is beautiful and it really showed the best of Louisville for our out of town guests. The Brown Hotel easily surpasses any hotel I have worked with in DC and many in Charleston! I would recommend this location to anyone as it has many things in walking distance and for their superb service. If you ever need to do a wedding or event in Louisville- This is it!

Plus their beds are comfy and their bathrooms are big!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Once again, we stayed at the Brown Hotel for our anniversary and once again we were more than pleased. From the moment you arrive at the The Brown Hotel, you feel that you have been transported back to a more elegant time. Even if you never stay there, you must go in and look around at the beautiful architecture of the building especially in the 2nd floor lobby. There is no other place I have ever stayed that once you step in to the hotel, you feel at home and that they truly want you there as their guest. The employer on the club level even remembered us from previous years. We try to always stay on the club level. Although it is more expensive, there are afternoon drinks (including wine and beer) and a great choice of hors deouvres and then you have a continental breakfast the next morning that includes fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, meats, jellies, pastries, muffins, croissants, etc. We also got 2 hot browns from the J. Graham Café while there and they were to die for!!!!! Love, love, love this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Club Level is the best place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Brenda,
Delighted to know that you chose us for your special anniversary night.
Great to hear that our club floor attendant remembered you from a prior year…we work hard on that.
Hope to have you back with us on another anniversary soon. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Staff makes you feel very special! Beautiful, historical, love the live piano music in the bar! Quiet room, nice bar, bartenders know how to make a great drink and aren't afraid to experiment. Sad to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Karen,
Very pleased to read your positive comments.
The Lobby Bar is indeed a special setting!
Hope to see you back again with us. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrise
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Staying at the Brown Hotel is like stepping into the past but with all the new convinces.
Our name is Brown so my husband (on his bucket list) was to have a Hot brown at the Brown.. He has not disappointed.
the staff is so pleasant that you feel like you are royalty...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Delighted to hear when the Brown is on a Bucket list!
We hope to have you back soon. Thanks for the nice thoughts.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We just stayed here for a weekend excursion to Louisville and it met our needs and more!
The were incredibly hospitable and the location is very good for all things downtown and beyond.
The decor of the hotel and the architecture is simply unmatched by most.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the nice thoughts on our staff and convenient location downtown.
Hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon. Please let me know when you join us next and I’ll block a nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.