We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel; still a bit too pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Hotel to your Saves list
The Brown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel; still a bit too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The rooms were very clean, the floor was very quiet, the hotel staff (although I had limited interaction with them) were very friendly and helpful, and the location is great. My only real gripe is the price. For $220+ a night and $20 per day parking, it seems a little high. It seemed like parking and breakfast should have been included for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Deluxe; this gives you "Club Floor" access that doesn't have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write.
Please allow me to handle your reservation during your next trip to Louisville and I will ensure you depart believing we are priced well. I will guarantee you a successful visit.
Hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    253
    84
    21
    18
See reviews for
115
331
46
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Americus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Brown for him to attend a meeting. The meeting rooms were suitable for their needs. Our room was adequately appointed and comfortable. The bar staff were friendly, and the ambience of the hotel was inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

As a disabled veteran, my wife and I rarely travel for leisure. This was our first stay at The Brown and we highly recommend it to anyone from business travellers to couples looking for a getaway.

The customer service we received was superior to any hotel we've ever stayed with in the past. Each employee of the hotel greeted us as if we were the most important people in the building every time we encountered them, regardless of the reason or question we had.

The room was absolutely beautiful, furnished with a plush pillowtop bed that can only be described similarly to sleeping on a cloud. We were in a Club Level Suite and the amenities it offers from terry cloth bathrobes, floor level key entry access, to free drinks in the Club Level Lounge, just to name a few, makes it a terrific value.

The English Grille is available for those who like me, have no particular schesule for when they are hungry. We ordered room service and was stunned by the quality of the food; it seemed as though our meal was freshly made to order even though it was almost midnight. Everything tasted exquisite from the champagne to our meal.

The hotel is in the heart of downtown Louisville, where so much history is still alive. From famous thoroughbred horses to legendary prize fighters, bourbons to iconic baseball bats, there's bound to be something for everyone within a close proximity.

Our stay at The Brown Hotel was absolutely perfect and while I am a hopeless romantic, the staff at The Brown Hotel made it all possible. I will be forever grateful to those of you who made our stay a truly memorable one. -Joseph & Jera D.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Great to read your wonderful review. Our staff loved reading your kind words.
We hope to have you back in the near future. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend conference. This Historic hotel is in a great location for walking downtown. The valet parking was excellent as well as the Room Service Staff. I order the
Kentucky Derby Pie and it was delicious. The Hotel is not new but still retains a lot of its charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The location is great, just a few blocks from the action on 4th Street. There is a fee for valet parking, but you can park the car yourself in a garage just a couple of blocks away on Chestnut St. for VERY little money. We're told the parking is free on weekends! If you're in Louisville when Churchill Downs is open, it's worth a visit. Also, take the 75 minute Trolley Tour. But back to the Brown Hotel, staying there is like going back in time; truly an experience. And you must get a Hot Brown while at the hotel - the original! It's very rich, so 1 is enough for 2 at lunch. The staff at the hotel is extremely helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a "club" room on the 11th floor which entitled us to breakfast in the AM, and wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! Very elegant and upscale. The staff were soooo nice and went above and beyond the whole time. You do have to pay for parking though. The hotel is within walking distance of the attractions. I would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.