We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel; still a bit too pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Hotel to your Saves list
The Brown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel; still a bit too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The rooms were very clean, the floor was very quiet, the hotel staff (although I had limited interaction with them) were very friendly and helpful, and the location is great. My only real gripe is the price. For $220+ a night and $20 per day parking, it seems a little high. It seemed like parking and breakfast should have been included for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Deluxe; this gives you "Club Floor" access that doesn't have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write.
Please allow me to handle your reservation during your next trip to Louisville and I will ensure you depart believing we are priced well. I will guarantee you a successful visit.
Hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Brown for him to attend a meeting. The meeting rooms were suitable for their needs. Our room was adequately appointed and comfortable. The bar staff were friendly, and the ambience of the hotel was inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sylviaroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

As a disabled veteran, my wife and I rarely travel for leisure. This was our first stay at The Brown and we highly recommend it to anyone from business travellers to couples looking for a getaway.

The customer service we received was superior to any hotel we've ever stayed with in the past. Each employee of the hotel greeted us as if we were the most important people in the building every time we encountered them, regardless of the reason or question we had.

The room was absolutely beautiful, furnished with a plush pillowtop bed that can only be described similarly to sleeping on a cloud. We were in a Club Level Suite and the amenities it offers from terry cloth bathrobes, floor level key entry access, to free drinks in the Club Level Lounge, just to name a few, makes it a terrific value.

The English Grille is available for those who like me, have no particular schesule for when they are hungry. We ordered room service and was stunned by the quality of the food; it seemed as though our meal was freshly made to order even though it was almost midnight. Everything tasted exquisite from the champagne to our meal.

The hotel is in the heart of downtown Louisville, where so much history is still alive. From famous thoroughbred horses to legendary prize fighters, bourbons to iconic baseball bats, there's bound to be something for everyone within a close proximity.

Our stay at The Brown Hotel was absolutely perfect and while I am a hopeless romantic, the staff at The Brown Hotel made it all possible. I will be forever grateful to those of you who made our stay a truly memorable one. -Joseph & Jera D.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Great to read your wonderful review. Our staff loved reading your kind words.
We hope to have you back in the near future. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend conference. This Historic hotel is in a great location for walking downtown. The valet parking was excellent as well as the Room Service Staff. I order the
Kentucky Derby Pie and it was delicious. The Hotel is not new but still retains a lot of its charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkclardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The location is great, just a few blocks from the action on 4th Street. There is a fee for valet parking, but you can park the car yourself in a garage just a couple of blocks away on Chestnut St. for VERY little money. We're told the parking is free on weekends! If you're in Louisville when Churchill Downs is open, it's worth a visit. Also, take the 75 minute Trolley Tour. But back to the Brown Hotel, staying there is like going back in time; truly an experience. And you must get a Hot Brown while at the hotel - the original! It's very rich, so 1 is enough for 2 at lunch. The staff at the hotel is extremely helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a "club" room on the 11th floor which entitled us to breakfast in the AM, and wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! Very elegant and upscale. The staff were soooo nice and went above and beyond the whole time. You do have to pay for parking though. The hotel is within walking distance of the attractions. I would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber197925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#5 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#31 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,045 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#30 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#23 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing