We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Gem. Great Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Brown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Gem. Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Its been a while since I last stayed at The Brown. When we were caught in unexpectedly bad I-65 traffic we decided to spend the night in Louisville on the way home. A quick consultation with Trip Advisor showed the Brown highly rated versus the other hotel we were considering - so we chose the Brown. And we are SO GLAD we did!
Our room was completely lovely. A room with heritage and personality. A Comfortable night's sleep. Great buzz in the lobby bar when we arrived very late on a Saturday night.
Hospitality - A special salute and thanks to the Best Doorman Ever - Stephen. He was not only very welcoming and took great care of us, our luggage and our car, but when one of our suitcase locks jammed, he arrived back at our room swiftly with a hacksaw and tools to immediately remedy the situation. When he saw us the next day, he addressed us by our name; perfectly pronounced. A nice touch. Highly Recommended for a complete hospitality experience! Enjoy the bar AND the J Graham Restaurant on the first floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    219
    78
    21
    17
See reviews for
100
285
42
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
indianap
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We always heard that staying at the Brown was an experience like no other...Well, we found this to be true enough, but not in a good way. On the spur of the moment we desided to do a weekend road trip, louisvile was close. So, we drove south. We called ahead and reserved a room for the night. We arrive and were elated by the oppulentence. The hotel is beautiful! Dark wood, rich fabrics, and a regal atmophere...no disappointment there. Room was clean and comfortable as any we have ever stayed in. This should have been a wonderful experience. However, the respectful, courtious, and timely service that should have only highlighted our stay was missing. On several different occations we were treated as if we did not belong at the Brown...it was as if the staff took one look at the bearded man in blue jean and desided we were not worth their time or kindness. On one specific occation, in the attacted café, the waiter out and out made us wait so he could attend to the needs of several older, well dressed ladies at the table behind us. We where in the cafe around an hour, and never were we offered refills until he brought the check. Once we finally got the attention of the waiter to bring our check we waited an additional 20 minutes while he attended immediately to getting the check for the gals behind us and waited til they paid. While our bill was left standing with card in the folder on the table as he walked by numberous times to serve them. Even, though we where there and finished first. It was so apparent that this man didnt want to be bothered with us my companion got up and walked out. Note that is only one of many experience that will cause us to spend our $$$$ elsewhere while in Louisville. Some of the staff at this hotel need some education on deversity and hospitality. Beauty and comfortable accomidation are not enough to account for the cost. At a place like this one expects a service staff with a friendly and welcoming attidude...unfortunately this was sorely lacking during our stay

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I came to Louisville for four days and three nights for a meeting and stayed at The Brown Hotel. The hotel is rich in history and the detailed work shows it. The rooms are nice and the hotel restaurants are delicious. I look forward to staying here again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We almost didn't stay here because we couldn't see the main entrance from the road. Don't pay any attention to the sign on Broadway street. There is a street that turns into the main entrance. Hotel interior is super nice inside. Staff is very friendly and check in was easy. The elevators move very fast so don't be alarmed. Rooms were very clean and spacious. King size bed was comfortable as I am a sleep number owner. I didn't much care for the Hot Brown. Breakfast was good. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind remarks on our staff.
I was disappointed to read your thought on the Hot Brown. We have guests drive miles out of their way and make a point to visit the hotel just for this sandwich, which was invented here in 1926. Please let me know when your travels bring you back to Louisville and I will have our Chef personally prepare one for you – I know we will exceed your expectations.
Hope to have you back soon.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
633 helpful votes 633 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed here on my last visit to Louisville. Over the years I have been in this hotel several times and it has always surpassed all the local competition. The room I was assigned was large and clean. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The cleaning staff did an excellent job everyday without being intrusive. If you go to this hotel you must have a " Hot Brown " in one of their restaurants or in the lobby bar area. This is a fantastic dish invented in this hotel. I was served by a server ( Nicole ) who is tops in my book.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the kind thoughts. Pleased to see that you keep returning to us. Nicole is indeed a great ambassador for us.
Please let me know when your travels next bring you to the Brown and I will block a nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel, if only for the one night, it was worth the money. The location is great and the staff there were wonderful. Several places to eat in the area along with the hotel's own restaurants and lobby bar. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and very elegant. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and the room was spacious and clean. Very accommodating from the street through the stay. The lobby bar was great and the restaurant was top notch. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.