We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Hotel to your Saves list
The Brown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel, if only for the one night, it was worth the money. The location is great and the staff there were wonderful. Several places to eat in the area along with the hotel's own restaurants and lobby bar. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shari f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and very elegant. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and the room was spacious and clean. Very accommodating from the street through the stay. The lobby bar was great and the restaurant was top notch. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpthom104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Makes you want to travel back in time. Simply grand. We enjoyed exploring the hotel, dining in the restaurant, and imagining all that has happened here. Great themes and decor for Louisville reflecting the character and uniqueness of the city.

Room Tip: Try the hot brown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBACedarburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous and the rooms are very comfortable. Every staff member I came in contact with were the best I have seen in a long time. From the front desk to the banquet staff. I would stay there again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crocci123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Always nice to read a great note about our wonderful staff.
Please let me know when your plans bring you back to Louisville and I will block a nice room for you.
Hope to meet on your next visit.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The largest hotel room I've ever stayed in! I definitely recommend The Brown if you're looking for something special with more of a local feel; for us it was a decision between The Brown and 21c, but as out-of-towners, I think we made the right decision.
Beautiful interiors, great service, fantastic room, plenty of bourbon options and, finally, a bartender that can make a superb Old Fashioned. Couldn't have asked for much more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pezmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Pleased to see that you chose us over the competition in town.
We are very proud of our lobby bartender staff, who are well versed in everything about Kentucky’s native spirit and can recommend from any of our 50+ bourbon selections.
Look forward to having you back with us.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I love this Hotel. I am here for a wedding. I enjoyed my stay, this is my second time spending the weekend at The Brown a Hotel. Entire room is spacious. It was six ladies getting ready in my room at one time & it worked.
My best Friend got married in the Crystal ballroom & reception was on the entire 16th floor; both was nice, Debbie from the brown is awesome. All hotel staff has been the absolute Best an accommodating.

Now! I will see this, I ordered the Classic breakfast it was not good bacon was burnt, eggs was juicy ( lol), toast was burnt for $25. Also, my plumbing is suspect, it seems to be a disaster waiting to happen. I'm very careful not to use too much of anything that would cause a mess. Lastly, the cleaning staff overlooked clean my room, but It was restocked late last night with no problem.

This is a very old Hotel, yet, very well kept. You will see dated places but it's still a pretty perfect place to stay. I was in room 920, overall I'm very satisfied.

Room Tip: Room 920, you can here hallway & room to room conversation, however, the class of people use pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olskooldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Recently stayed 2 nights so I could be downtown for a couple of events and it turned into the perfect weekend getaway. The upgraded room was spacious, had lots of windows and the beds were heaven. Every member of the staff I encountered had a smile and wanted to make sure I had the best stay possible. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouLouWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#5 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 3,044 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#31 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#23 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing