We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Hotel to your Saves list
The Brown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Brown Hotel Package
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Natick, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We chose the Brown based on its downtown location and historic charm. We were not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful with spacious, comfortable rooms and a short walking distance from downtown. The staff were extremely friendly and gave us a great dinner recommendation as the formal dining room was closed on Sunday. The breakfast was delicious. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    258
    85
    21
    18
See reviews for
117
337
47
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

i have stayed at the Brown Hotel too many times to count. Because of this hotel, Louisville has come to feel like my home away from home. All aspects of service, the decor, and cuisine help travelers relax and enjoy the charm of this downtown hotel. Beds are comfy; the abundant pillows feel luxurious. The staff, in my experience, is consistently helpful and respectful. I always make a stop in the gift shop for unique items. I plan to stay at the Brown in my future travels to Louisville.

Room Tip: I do like rooms that face Broadway or Fourth Street because I like the hustle and bustle of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is a gorgeous hotel in a great location, but the service was very spotty. On the one hand, they went out of their way to give us a late checkout and a late breakfast. On the other hand, over our 2-night stay they called us and woke us up the first morning at 7:30 am! to ask if we were staying that night. Both us had intended to sleep in late and had trouble getting back to sleep. (Why didn't they know we were booked for 2 nights??) Our first breakfast arrived without water or toast, even though these were supposed to be part of the meal. For some reason, the latest you can order breakfast to arrive, when turning in the request the night before, is 9:00-9:20!! So they woke us up again that same morning to bring breakfast. Something closer to 11 am would be much better.

The worst insult was at checkout, when I mentioned the problems to the checkout clerk. She was surprised, but offered us nothing - not a free appetizer or drink at the bar, not a discount on a potential next stay, nothing. Probably will NOT stay here again - Louisville is a very friendly place and I'm sure there are many other places that would have appreciated our business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

First night was rough. Neighbor started blaring TV at 2am-5am, and the staff rang the room once and knocked once, so when the guest didn't answer, they told me that there was nothing that they could do...and that they were totally booked... Not much effort to try to assist... The next day, I explained situation to day staff and they immediately changed us to a very quiet room and gave us breakfast... Wish the night staff was as capable...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at The Brown three times in the past three years, and I wouldn't stay any place else in Louisville. You are greeted by name at check in, there is a shuttle between the airport and hotel ( and I have always had delightful conversations with the young men who are driving ), the rooms are spacious and well appointed, the restaurants are top quality and the lobby and bar are spectacular. And it is now a great area to walk and visit other businesses.

Room Tip: The Club Floor is worth the extra money for access to breakfast and happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From_the_Desk_of, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Delighted to read your review. This is exactly what we strive to provide for our guests. So pleased to read that the Brown is the only place you would stay in Louisville. Please contact me after you make a future reservation. I would look forward to blocking a nice room for you.

Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at the Brown for a business conference and though others had told me how beautiful this hotel was, and though I had looked at the pictures online...none of that did this hotel justice. It's just stunning, and you feel indulged the moment you step inside. Not only is this hotel beautiful in every nook and cranny (there are architectural details everywhere), but the staff are incredibly friendly, helpful, and clearly enjoy making your stay a wonderful experience. A few extras to consider...free wi-fi througout the hotel, a free shuttle to and from the airport (which is just 10 minutes away), a lovely gift shop, and excellent places to dine within the hotel (wonderful food and again, fabulous staff). And the Derby Pie...don't skip this!

Room Tip: My room had a king-sized bed, an armoir, full sized dresser, nice sized desk, 3 end tables, and a fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From_the_Desk_of, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Very pleased to see your wonderful comments. Please let me know if I can prepare a room for you on your next trip to Louisville.

Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Brown is excellent. It is a beautifully maintained classic hotel with attentive service and good food.

My only suggestion is to lower the lights in the lobby bar and eating area. I felt like I was in a train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From_the_Desk_of, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your constructive commentary on the light level. I will indeed keep an eye on and hope you may visit in the near future to see it corrected.

Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.