We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Browns and Hot Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Hotel to your Saves list
The Brown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Wifi
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Destin, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hot Browns and Hot Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed one night between Christmas and New Years and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was surprisingly large (though we were on a Club Level) and the doormen and front desk staff very pleasant. Had a drink in the lobby bar after dinner at local restaurant, harvest, and enjoyed being part of the energy. A wedding was wrapping up so guests were filtering down for nightcaps. On our way out, we split a famous Hot Brown in the street level restaurant, J Graham's Cafe. The kitchen split it for us and I was surprised by the massive amount of food that came with one order! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradWalker-GM, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Very pleased to hear that you will return. Great to hear you enjoyed our Hot Brown, which brings guests from all over the country.
Thank you for mentioning our large guest rooms – when the hotel was first built we had 600 rooms. Following a later renovation, we now have 293, so the rooms are large for an historic hotel.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    241
    79
    21
    17
See reviews for
107
308
44
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for one night to attend a concert at Headliners in December 2012. The Brown is a gorgeous property. We were lucky enough to book this on hotwire for a great price and were very impressed upon entering the lobby. The staff at the front desk was very nice as well.

We were in a King room and while the room itself was smaller than many modern hotels the bathroom was gigantic in comparison. We were provided all the modern amenities of internet, hair dryer, coffee maker, etc.

Our only difficulty was getting the room warmed up since the one wall was all windows, however in an older hotel I expect this. Once we closed the drapes and turned the heat up a few degrees the room warmed up. Our shower was leaking in that it dripped a bit and created a puddle on the edge of the tub but this really didn't bother me. I think when you are staying at an older hotel you need to realize that things may not be as modern as at others. Personally I'm willing to sacrifice little things like this for the charm, architecture, and history.

The negative reviews I have seen on here seem to be people expecting this hotel to compare to something built 10 years ago. Kind of unrealistic if you ask me.

I loved the place and would stay again. My husband and I shared a Hot Brown for lunch in the downstairs cafe and I'd definitely recommend this if you haven't had one. It was DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradWalker-GM, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your good thoughts.
Please let me know when you return and I will personally inspect your room to ensure everything is in perfect shape.
We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is historic, clean and fantastic in pretty much every way. We found a great deal on Hotwire, which doesn't tell you the hotel name until you pay. We had a room for about 130 dollars. After we booked we called the hotel directly to see how much we might have saved....their published room rate was about 250 a night. Now, i'm not ever going to pay that much for a room no matter how nice the place is but it was certainly worth the 130!

Room Tip: Use hotwire and if it says it's a 4 star hotel, chances are it's this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We live in Louisville, KY and are very familiar with The Brown Hotel. We have had delicious meals in J. Graham's Café and The English Grill. We have attended many enjoyable parties and wedding celebrations in the spectacular Crystal Ballroom. But, it wasn't until we hosted a wedding celebration in the ballroom for our daughter and her new husband, that we came to the full appreciation of this Louisville Jewel! The Wedding Coordinator was extremely helpful, very focused on details and quite professional. The chef graciously accommodated some special diet requests, but more importantly, our guests loved the food! There were lots of favorable comments about the efficient and friendly staff. Many of our guests stayed in the hotel and all had a wonderful experience. Elegant. Delicious. Accommodating. Wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed one night at The Brown Hotel in downtown Louisville. A wonderful-quaint historic property, as the hotel is true to its 1920's roots. The rooms are nicely appointed, the staff is friendly and helpful... just a "nice feel" to the hotel - sit in the lobby or have a drink at the bar. Just minutes walking to 4th Street Live - Louisville's downtown entertainment area. Valet and self-park is easy in the adjacent parking garage. The place to stay in downtown Louisville!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradWalker-GM, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Always nice to hear a guest refer to us as “the place to stay.” We look forward to your return. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

In all my travels, I have never seen a more charming hotel. The lobby is breathtaking! The food great! I can't get enough of it and go back often. The staff greets every visit with "Welcome Home" and big smiles. For personal stays or business, the Brown Hotel meets every request with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. The beds with their many pillows are comfy. Everything is crisp and clean. I love the family feel you get from the staff. They are friendly and all of them seem to love their job; each one acts as if you were the most important person there. Within easy walking distance to a dozen or more restaurants (and downtown not much farther), the Brown is located in a great place with plenty to offer nearby. I stayed on the concierge level and the continental breakfast and early evening hors d'oeuvres were great. The service is impeccable. I felt really pampered. I highly recommend the Brown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is just beautiful. Everyone was very friendly and professional. The atmosphere was breathtaking and that food was delicious. We stayed on the club level (which was well worth it!) and truly enjoyed the continental breakfast and the evening hors d'oeuvres. The continental breakfast included many delicious pastries, bagels, meats & cheese, and delicious sausage gravy. The hors d'oeuvres included pita bread chips with different dips, mixed cocktail olives, meats & cheese, small baguettes with different spreads, shitake mushroom & caviar, and mini egg rolls. There were a selection of wine and beers also. Our room was spotless and decorated in theme with the hotel. We arrived after 8p.m. in the evening and were wanting to have dinner at the English Grille. After we got settled in our room we arrived at the English Grille and they were expecting us! The check-in associate had called ahead for us. My dinner was delicious. For the appetizer we had the seared scallop which was very good. We ordered the duck confit, frisee lettuce for our salad and it was incredible! For dinner I had the roasted pork chop which was very good but my fiance ordered braised beef short ribs and he was very disappointed. Overall our experience at the Brown Hotel was very enjoyable. The are also within walking distance of Fourth Street Live for some other dinning choices and nightlife.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the club level for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradWalker-GM, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Thank you for your detailed comments regarding our Club floor, which our guests find to be an excellent value.
Our staff was very pleased to read your note of “friendly and professional” service, which we strive for every day.
We hope to have you back in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.