We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for the Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Louisville

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Louisville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 South 4th Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More Save More
Ranked #29 of 95 hotels in Louisville
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for the Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

Enjoyed a weekend stay at this typical Hyatt. Ideal location for tourist destinations like the Ali Center, Slugger Museum, and Fourth Street. Due to the proximity of Fourth Street Live you can expect crowded streets and some party noise at night.

We had a spacious room with two double beds, a city and partial river view. It was very clean and perfectly comfortable. It had a single cup coffee maker, hairdryer, ice and vending on each floor. Bathroom was clean, included basic soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion. Plenty of towels. Air condition was in perfect working condition, temperature controlled, not just on/off fan. We didn't have any "bar" noise from the lobby mentioned in some previous reviews, however on our second night's stay we had a very rude group that decided to have a party in our hallway. While this is not the fault of the hotel, the staff seemed unable to control this situation and the party continued well past two a.m.

While each staff member we encountered was very friendly, we had difficulty getting directions and guidance on anything outside of their four block area.

I didn't use any of these amenities, but they did have an indoor pool, fitness center, restaurant and some gift shoppes.

Overall it was exactly what one would expect from a Hyatt; good value, very clean and comfortable, friendly service. I would stay there again and would recommend it for a short/weekend stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No concierge
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    190
    68
    26
    13
See reviews for
54
111
21
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Our two rooms were clean and modern (although the pillows in mine looked clean they didn't smell fresh).

We asked for rooms on an upper floor and the environment was reasonably quiet.

Priceline room rate: $49/night
Self-Parking Garage: $10/day

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

The Hyatt Regency Louisville is in a perfect location - next to Fourth Street Live and within walking distance (about 1.5 miles) of the Louisville Bats 3A baseball stadium.

The room was clean, neatly decorated, and comfortable. Check in was fast and easy. Valet parking was easy, but a little expensive ($18 per night, but I saw $20 as we were leaving).

Got this for a steal on a web bidding site and was a great deal, but would be worth full price, in my opinion.

  • Liked — Great location - check out 4th Street Live (restaurant and entertainment district)
  • Disliked — Valet parking price - $18 per day, but saw $20 per day when we left
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

I stayed here for a week, attending an event across the street at the Kentucky international Center. Given the other hotel options in the area this was a good choice, but it fell down a bit on noise and service.

As other reviewers have noted, this is an atrium-style hotel, including an "open" (no walls) bar area on the 2nd floor. Even though I stayed on the 9th floor, the music from the bar was audible in my room, although it only went later than 10 pm on one night. The soundproofing between rooms was also poor: I could hear every word of the guy next door's phone calls, and I don't think he was talking especially loudly.

Other issues: I was told my only option was a handicap room without a closet, even though I was staying a full week and had booked well in advance. In the room itself the bedspread and Hyatt-trademark decorative throw both looked like they'd been wadded up in a bag for a week; super wrinkled. The bed was made sloppily on some days, perfectly fine on others. I also noticed stains on both upholstered chairs in the room but, again, the front desk said a switch was impossible, even though I would be there for a week.

That said, the Hyatt was perfectly located for the KICC, directly across the street and accessible by an overhead walkway. The rooms were clean and reasonably neat, with good workspace. The small fitness area was 24 hours and good, if crowded. I didn't try the Business Center (just 2 computer terminals with a line of people waiting line every time I passed it).

I ordered room service one night, with very good food and excellent service. They even called after the meal to follow-up and make sure everything was satisfactory.

The neighborhood isn't terrific at night, despite its proximity to 4th Street Live. The hotel entrance requires a keycard after 10pm, as do the elevators. This is good and reasonable, yet the hotel also really needs a doorman or front door bellhop to chase off the panhandlers that hang out by the entrance. I will say, though, that this is an issue throughout downtown Louisville, not just this hotel (colleagues at other hotels encountered the same thing).

With the newly renovated rooms I would consider this one of the better downtown choices, especially for KICC. The service was less responsive than I've encountered at other Hyatts, but given the other options in the area, a a solid choice overall.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed one night at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Louisville, KY.
Found it to be clean and an extra nice place to stay.
Followed other opinions and requested a room on an upper floor to avoid lobby noise. This worked well! The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Would have preferred the bath to be a bit bigger or to have the sink outside the main bath but it was "ok". Would stay here again for the price we paid on Hotwire. We used the valet parking and walked to the Louisville Bats Stadium and the Louisville Bat Company. All in all, a pretty decent place to stay!

  • Liked — Very Clean and a comfortable bed
  • Disliked — smaller bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Used priceline a few days ahead of time and got the room for $65 including all fees on a Friday night.

Downsides:
Parking was $7 for overnight.
Room a bit noisy

Location is great for Fourth Street Live. The walk to the river is a little long.

The room was on the third floor and there was noise from the lobby until 11pm but it was manageable. The room was clean, beds were comforable with some pillow tops.

Manager took us up to the unused restaruant on the top floor for some great views of the city.

Nice hotel for the price. Not work full retail price though.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pay for parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency downtown Louisville on April 12, 2008 during Thunder Over Louisville. We arrived at noon and were immediately greeted by the friendly staff who offered to valet park our car. They were great and had our car within minutes every time we needed it. We then proceeeded to the front desk to see if we could check in early.
The associate at the front desk recognized our last name and said she knew our room was ready because she had just done the paperwork. Our room was exactly as requested and we were able to get settled in before heading down to the riverfront for the airshow. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the furnishings were comfortable. I was also excited to find that the clock radio was also an iPOD docking station!
All of the staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and helpful. We also noticed this with many of the other guests and enjoyed talking with people in town from other countries.
After the fireworks we returned to the hotel and had a good dinner at Pepper's Bar. We also utilitzed the sundry shop in the hotel lobby which is good for purchasing drinks, snacks and gifts.
We had a great weekend thanks to the staff and accomodations at the Hyatt Louisville - Thanks!

  • Liked — professional and friendly service, location, accomodations in room
  • Disliked — no negative comments
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Address: 311 South 4th Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TIG Global, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.