We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice in Downtown Louisville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Louisville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Louisville to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Louisville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 South 4th Street, Louisville, KY 40202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Best Choice in Downtown Louisville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We're Louisville natives and return to our hometown several times each year to visit family, attend sporting events and so on. Over the years we have stayed at all of the major downtown hotels. They're all good. But several years ago we decided to make the Hyatt our home away from home. You can stay at places that are older or newer, larger or smaller, more or less expensive. But for us there is no other choice. We developed a rapport with the staff that the others cannot match. You can tell that the Hyatt spends a lot of time and effort recruiting and developing good people. They are especially accommodating to our 5-year-old son - Front Desk, Valet, Wait Staff, Coffee Shop, Security ... you name it. The fact that he enjoys it so much makes every visit a pleasure. He loves the glass elevators, the Atrium, the escalators and the indoor pool, which is ideal for small children learning to swim. The property itself is in a great location right next to Fourth Street Live and it's an easy walk through the "Louie Link" (downtown skyway) to the Convention Center, other hotels and YUM! Center. It is very well maintained and the rooms (we typically get a double) are spacious enough and clean. It feels like a building that is much fresher and newer than one that is pushing 40 years old. The recent renovations are outstanding, especially the fitness center and the bar and restaurant which are on par with most of the high-profile offerings at 4SL. It's a great place to hangout, have a meal or a snack or some drinks. While it can get a bit noisy at times, we have never lacked for sleep. I'd characterize it more as a lively atmosphere than a nuisance. Truth of the matter, most of the time it is quite quiet. Anyhow, everyone has their personal preferences and some people cannot be pleased. But for most of you who are visiting Louisville and want to stay at a nice spot downtown, you cannot go wrong at the Hyatt Regency.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about noise, ask for a higher floor. Refrigerators are available for a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at the Hyatt Regency Louisville, we would like to thank you for taking the time to compile a review your recent stay. We appreciate you rkinds remarks abour our hotel and staff. We are thrilled to hear that you would recommend our hotel as the hotel of choice in Louisville. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    279
    102
    43
    20
See reviews for
81
148
34
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very comfortable rooms, great breakfast buffet. Was there during renovations of lobby restaurant, so breakfast was served in the restaurant on the roof. As noted in other reviews, no refrigerator or microwave, however, I have found that the "better" the chain, the fewer the amenities! But other than that, very comfortable. Plenty of plugs near the bed for cell phone charger, etc. Wonderful service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such great comments about our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Terrible hotel!! Noise everywhere especially at 2am!!! Omg we had to check out the next day to the Galt House. Bigger bath little dated but that's ok . Hyatt regency??? Seriously!!!??? We checked in at 5 pm our room was not ready. Worst bathroom and noice level in downtown... But the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel based on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear your overall experience did not exceed your expectations; but are happy to know our staff was nice and accommodating. We will forward your comments to the appropriate departments in order to ensure rooms are ready on a timely manner as well as minimizing the noise levels in the hotel. We hope you reconsider your decision and choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were at this Hyatt 12 years ago. It has been upgraded but not in every detail. It is still a very nice hotel, nicely appointed, and extremely friendly place. I would recommend it when in Louisville, KY

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Louisville and for taking the time to review your experience. We are pleased you recognized our friendly and professional staff, and are happy to share your wonderful comments. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nowhere on the hotel's website does it state that you can't bring alcohol or coolers into the building. I booked a room for 3 people and we wanted to drink in our room. We brought a cooler with us and were stopped at the door by an employee who directed our attention to a small sign posted at the entrance stating that coolers and alcohol were not allowed in. There is no refrigerator in the room, so that makes it impossible for 3 guests to have cold drinks.
I booked a room for 3 (and paid extra for the third person) with two double beds, but when I arrived, they said they couldn't put 3 beds in a room. I would expect a pull-out couch or something for our third person to sleep on. Instead, they gave us a pile of blankets for the third person. Pathetic.

Room Tip: For a cold drink in your room, you have to sneak it in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel based on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear your overall experience did not exceed your expectations, for which we strive at Hyatt Hotels and Resorts. Our hotel offers accommodations with one or two beds for a maximum of four people per room. However, due to fire codes we unfortunately are not permitted to add roll-a-way beds in rooms with two beds. Alcoholic beverages are not permitted to be brought in due to our liquor license. Alcoholic beverages are available in our bar or through Room Service. Although we do not furnish refrigerators in all our guest rooms, complimentary refrigerators are available upon guest request. Thank you, again, for your review. We hope you will reconsider and choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

couldn't ask for more. The location is excellent, right in the action and walking distance to all the clubs and restaurants. We were greeted by a lovely woman - Angie - she could not have been more accomimodating. The bar tender - Kelli - was also awesome. Full of good information and useful tips. The room was clean and spacious. Only negative was the view but hey we weren't there to look out the window. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Regency Louisville and for taking the time to review your experience. We are pleased you had the chance to meet both Angie and Kelly, and will share your wonderful comments about both of them to all of our staff. Thank you very much for the kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed here for 8 days for the AP grading, and had NO problems with noise, either within the hotel or outside from Fourth Street. Maybe I was tired, but I slept well, AND I was only on the third floor. The room was spacious and clean, with nice bath amenities. Wireless was free, and the employees very accommodating. The gym was extremely well-equipped. The only suggestion I have is that they put a side table next to the lounge chair and lamp. For business travelers, the desk fills up pretty fast, and I ate in my room most nights, with no place to really put the food. One more table would have been perfect. I hope AP puts me here next year!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Louisville, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel based on your recent stay and experience. We are glad to hear of your positive experience at our property. We will share your suggestions with our management team in order to ensure proper corrective actions are made. We hope to have you as a guest again the next time you visit our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 98 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard by Marriott Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#27 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 98 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Address: 311 South 4th Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#18 Business Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#21 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Louisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.