We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a cheap, solo overnighter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center to your Saves list
Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 Arthur Street, Louisville, KY 40208   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
st. louis, mo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ok for a cheap, solo overnighter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Close to UK campus, KY Expo Center, gas station (at hotel), and expressway. Keep your attention "tuned" while at the hotel--the barbed wire fences that surround it are likely there for a reason. A little rough around the edges, but the staff is helpful and the continental breakfast is fair. Overall, ok for a cheap, solo overnighter if your expectations aren't too high.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron P, Manager at Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us at Days Inn Central. We know we are a older hotel, but we do try to make it better by giving you clean rooms and great service. As for the fence it was put up way before my time here, but my understanding the main reason it was put up was to stop people from using our parking lot as a short cut to the Arthur Street. Thank you for your comments and I look forward to meeting you on your next visit. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    41
    41
    55
See reviews for
38
27
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My 3-year-old was sent to Kosair by ambulance and we were released at 4 am. We lived an hour away and I was completly exausted with. No way home until the next morning. They did give us a discount. The lady that checked us in was very nice.

However, the location was terrible. There was construction going on that litterally rattled the heater in the room. I did not feel safe there especially since my chain lock was broke. The room was ok, falling apart but at least somewhat clean. The comforters probably should have been cleaned or changed though.

The next morning, we did enjoy their free breakfast which was well stocked. The lady in the dinning room was very nice. But the lady at checkout provided terrible service. First of all she was gossiping and when I came to checkout she acted as if my presence there were an inconveinence. Then after she finally checked us out, as I was waiting for my husband, she continued talking about a confrontation with a housekeeper there and was cussing in front of my 3-year-old child. The whole situation was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron P, Manager at Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I want to apologize for the inconvenience of recent stay with us at Days Inn Central. I know we have a older hotel and the one thing we try to do is keep our rooms clean and give great service as I know there is a lot of locations you can stay at. If possible I would like to know what day you checked out on so I can get with the clerk who did not treat you with the respect you deserve.
I do want to thank you for staying with us and I hope you will reconsider on returning and give us another chance. Thank you for taking time to fill out the survey and giving us feed back on what we need to do to be a better hotel. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

To begin, I have stayed at this location over six times, and I have not had a 'bad' experience (vs. other reviewers). Although this is an older property and some of the furnishings are a bit dated - it is well maintained and serviced. An example, during my most recent stay the process of new mattresses in every room was underway. There is a veteran staff who are all very helpful and accommodating. The dining area is well-sized and provides an above-average continental breakfast (opens at 6:30, but 6:00 seems to be the norm in other areas). It is well-stocked and maintained, and the attendants are friendly. The location of the hotel is handy to the interstate connectors (I-71, 65, 64) and close to downtown. Overall a good value - when compared with similarly priced hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron P, Manager at Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to give us feed back on Days Inn Central. We do appriciate you staying with us and hope you continue to find our motel the location of choice when you return to Louisville. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to help you and our other guest to continue to have a wonderful stay. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center

Address: 1620 Arthur Street, Louisville, KY 40208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're in Louisville, let Days Inn Central be your home away from home! A friendly atmosphere and exceptional customer service place you in the heart of a great hospitality experience. Amenity-abundant accommodations, great local restaurants, and a caring dedicated staff work to exceed all your expectations of the typical economy inn. This hotel provides the best for those visiting Louisville on business or pleasure. Visit us and discover what sets us apart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Central / University And Expo Hotel Louisville
Days Inn Louisville
Louisville Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Central / University and Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.