We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK But” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 E Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK But”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Staff is friendly, rooms clean....money must be tight because they turned off aircon in all hallways...92 degrees and stifling going from room to elevators..strange strategy...beds are super soft and must be latex...hot hot hot at night...wont stay here again,, but kudos to the people,,they do a good job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Brad,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. I would like to apologize for the temperature of the hallways, we did in fact have an issue with our AC unit. I am happy to say we have that issue corrected now. It is always wonderful to hear that our associates provided outstanding service, i will be sure to pass your comments along to them.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    89
    42
    8
    6
See reviews for
69
47
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
evanston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

stayed here 2 nights mid august. when we were checking in we noticed many groups of women coming and going through the lobby- was informed that there were a bunch of bachelorette parties going on. turned out that one group was in the room next to ours, but luckily we could not hear any of their chatter through the walls. there were also many family groups there with way more kids than could have been in a single family- thus must have been pool party groups- which were later confirmed by the crowds at the tiny pool! as mentioned by others, the hall way carpets were really gross and stained up. although the rooms were modern, the way the bathroom was configured (a separate room for the shower/sink and another for the toilet and tiny corner sink) it was sort of a nuisance. they did not have traditional doors- rather a sliding panel of frosted glass. this meant that if you needed to use the bathroom at night, when others were sleeping, you could not use the light as it would light up the entire sleeping room. also, this property shared the lot (and maybe even pool?) with another Marriott brand so the lot was full. Breakfast needed more seating- the room was set up more like a lounge with tall boys, couches and a few tables.
Booked this as we were a family of 4 so the 2 beds and a pull out, as well as a fridge and the breakfast seemed like it would be the best for our needs. However, the hotel should put limits on the number of folks that can occupy a room as there were many party groups there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay. I have shared your comments with our management team here and we will be looking at ways to improve our hotel based on your feedback.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Third Lake IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed overnight in Louisville. I reserved the Queen suite because it included a sofabed. We were two adults (me and my sister) and two teenagers (son and daughter). The hotel was easy to find, the clerk was very pleasant and warmly greeted us. We had a room on the 6th floor and the carpet in the hallway was stained and had an eerie pattern that made your eyes bounce. The room appeared beautiful when we walked in-there was a sofa bed and two queens. But, we immediately noticed that the sofa was stained as were the dust covers on both beds and the carpet. The sheets appeared clean as did the bathroom. We opened the sofa bed to see the inside--nasty! And,the mattress was nothing more than a thin pad ! My son ended up sharing the bed with his aunt. The sheets and pillows on the beds appeared clean and the quality of the mattresses were good. The hotel was full so we did not ask for a different room. It just seemed that they needed to either deep clean or replace the carpet, the dust covers and the sofa. The rest of the stay was nice. The breakfast was terrific, and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Gem0607,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay with us at the SpringHill Suites Louisville. I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. I have spoken with my Housekeeping Manager and can assure you the issues in your room were addressed. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and hope that you will return to our property, when you are in town next.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

rooms smelled of mold, carpets filthy, property very cramped, parking is awful. although the front desk personel, mainly Tiffany and Austin, did what they could to make it better, we were truly disappointed and frankly, embarrassed by this marriott property. we checked out early and stayed at the full service marriott 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay. If you would like to discuss these issues further please feel free to contact me directly.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times. The hotel is a good location with easy on and off I65. I called for rooms from the road and was put on hold until I had to call back, then after working out a rate (I was getting 3 rooms), the front desk transferred me to the corporate reservation center and I had to start all over again. Then after working it all out again and being put on hold, the hotel itself picked up and I had to start over again. I finally called back a bit later and started all over again. One of the main reasons I paid extra to say here instead of somewhere cheaper is for the free hot breakfast. I had 4 children and 4 adults. Breakfast was from 6:30-9:00. We all got down at 8:25 and all the eggs and sausage were gone for the day. The coffee was empty, then the orange juice ran out. We were told there would be no more eggs and eventually about 8:50 they brought out about 30 more sausage patties. I had this happen on one of my other 3 visits and I will not stay here again. I would rather stay across the street and go get breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mike,

I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you experienced in Breakfast during your stay. I have been working with our breakfast team to ensure that they are meeting the needs of our guests. We have recently launched a new breakfast program and have found that we are far better equiped to handle a larger volume of guests during our peak hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a good place to stay. The room was clean and it had a funky lay out in a good way. The pool area was clean and had lots of towels. My only complaint was they had a hard time keeping the breakfast area stocked but overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Roger,

Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for a 4-day conference which was held at the Lville convention center. The hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. The ac was temperamental, either too cold or too stuffy, but not enough to make us complain. Breakfast was very complete and good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Illnois Music Mom,
Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown

Address: 132 E Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Springhill Suites Louisville Downtown is just a short walk to 4th Street Live and the convention center and convenient to Churchill Downs and Louisville Slugger Museum. Our brand-new suites feature separate living areas with pullout sofas, free WiFi, flat-screen TVs and 25% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Travelers appreciate our garage parking ($14 daily) and the in-suite microwaves and mini-fridges. Jump-start your morning with our free hot breakfast buffet or grab a snack on the go from our 24-hour Market. Stay active at our 24-hour fitness center and indoor pool. With convenient perks in the heart of downtown Louisville, we're the perfect choice for your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.