We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; be sure to rent a car!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Louisville Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Suites Louisville Airport to your Saves list
Springhill Suites Louisville Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209 (Fairgrounds)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; be sure to rent a car!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

What a hotel. When they say "Louisville Airport," they mean it. It probably took no more than 3 minutes to make it from the hotel to the passenger terminal.

Pros: Friendly staff; nice enough rooms (kind of small, but not bad). Free high-speed internet (had my own wireless card for the laptop, so not sure if it's very good or not). A mini-convenience store with drinks, frozen meals, medicines, etc. Prices weren't unreasonable (probably on par with a Walgreen's or CVS, but maybe a tad cheaper). Cold refrigerator in the room (think dorm-style, not what's in your kitchen). Separate living and bedroom, though open-concept. The whole hotel is non-smoking, so you didn't have that ever-present nicotine aroma throughout the property. Free breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, but was decent.

Cons: Furniture in living quarters was tightly fitted. I had a hard time backing the desk chair up because of the chair in the living room. Only one TV for both rooms; it swivels back and forth. That swivel action caused the cable cord to come out twice during my stay. (And it's not convenient to plug it back in; I have a similar model TV at home, so I knew the layout - it was still difficult). I never could get the a/c to work right. And the location is too far from the Kentucky Exposition Center to walk; in fact, *nothing* is in walking distance. You'll have to rent a car to get around Louisville. That said, there are a ton of really good restaurants in a short drive.

You're also near a Six Flags park and have easy access to downtown (we went from the hotel to the Louisville Slugger museum in less than 20 minutes, and that included getting turned around downtown!).

Would I stay here again? Well, truthfully, I hope I never need to step foot in Louisville, KY, again (not on my Bucket List), but if fate brings me back this way, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
20
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed overnight due to a 5:40 am flight at the nearby airport. We were a little apprehensive about airport noise but didn't hear a single plane all night. What a pleasant surprise this hotel was, especially given the $89 room price. The staff was super helpful and nice from check-in to check-out. Parking lot was very brightly lit at night. The room was huge, with a suite set-up which included a couch and a mini-bar with sink, coffee, microwave and refrigerator. The room was very clean. The bed and pillows were quite comfy. Quite unexpectedly (due to our 4:30 am checkout) yogurt and fruit were available for breakfast (I think cereal was available too but we didn't have time). Our room had a shower only and I wish it had also included a bathtub (don't know if all rooms are this way but we had already unpacked and didn't want to change rooms); other than that, no complaints. Would definitely stay at this location again and would certainly try Springhill Suites at other locations based on this experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Family stayed at the Hotel the night before a cheer competition with 4-6th graders having booked a block of rooms. Hotel looked nice and was very clean. Room was set up nice with a flat TV that swiveled from the bed area to the sitting area, beds were comfy. However, pool didn't have any clean towels and management provided them reluctantly. Overall the front desk was helpful in that they would get the job done, just not in a very friendly manner.
We stayed on the 4th floor, it is near the airport and the highway, you would hear the jets and cars late into the night.
I'd pick another hotel if we were to return.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Comfort
  • Disliked — Noise from area
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

we had a terrible ice storm in louisville. we stayed at springhill from friday to sunday, we throughly enjoyed our stay in difficult circumstances.

all the staff was extremely friendly and always asking if there was anything they could do for us. housekeeping did an excellent job. very clean property. plenty of towels, pillows, closet space and nice flat screen tv.

suite had a microwave and small fridge. also free wifi in the room and 2 computers in the lobby. free breakfast offered oatmeal waffles eggs and sausage---pretty good food

i would recommend this property.

  • Liked — cleanliness of property
  • Disliked — no hot tub
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron, oh
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Davie_Florida captured my thoughts almost perfectly, please read that review for an excellent capture of this hotel.

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family in Nov 2008. The room was barely large enough for all of the furniture. I suppose it's "technically" a suite, but it's definitely not for extended stays.

Although there are plates (as the prevous review noted) curiously stored in the microwave, there were only 2. We had to raid the breakfast area for more. Breakfast itself was subpar.

Do go out at night here without armed guards. This is one of the rougher parts of Louisville.

On the bright side, the lobby is beautiful, staff was great, and the sleeper sofa was the best we ever slept on (but a tad small).

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

I needed a location close to the airport because I had an early pickup the next morning. I walked in to this property without a reservation.

Room 412 was clean and attractive. Pack your ear plugs---there was a lot of air traffic (UPS?) noise throughout the night.

Nothing at all wrong with this hotel. However, I probably will not stay here again because of the airport noise.

Room rate: $139.00
Taxes: $20.86
Total: $159.86

  • Liked — clean and spacious
  • Disliked — overhead airport noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

This hotel has all the basics, but misses on some of the things you'd expect to see in a suites-type hotel. Although a microwave and fridge are provided, don't plan on doing anything more than reheating a pizza as there are no service items beyond paper plates and plastic silverware (oddly enough, stored in the microwave -- who would've thought?). I purchased a can of soup for dinner without thinking about a can opener. No problem -- I'll just call the front desk. They didn't have one either. I eventually bought a cheap opener (and some plastic bowls, since there were none provided). Minor inconvenience, but not one you expect to encounter in this type of hotel. I don't expect a fully equipped kitchen, but access to a can opener isn't asking too much, is it?

And, if you use those plastic utensils they do provide, don't expect that they would be replaced -- housekeeping was hit or miss on replacement of items including utensils, coffee, etc.).

If you plan to eat out, don't expect to find much in the neighborhood. There are at least a half a dozen hotels in the immediate neighborhood, but virtually no place to eat, either fast food or sit downs.

None of this is tragic. But these and similar annoyances added up. I would recommend it as a place just to sleep (thus defeating the purpose of a suites hotel), but if you will be spending more time in the room (using, perhaps, its often slow internet service), you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — attention to details
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Suites Louisville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Louisville Airport

Address: 820 Phillips Lane, Louisville, KY 40209
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Louisville Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springhill Suites Louisville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Louisville Airport Hotel Louisville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Louisville Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.