We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
325 W. Main Street, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)
502-584-0102
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,505 restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 4th Street
Rumson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Far and away one of the best meals ever! The atmosphere is interesting and warm and the food was amazing! Our flight was delayed so by the time we got to the restaurant we were starving. Our waiter immediately got working with our food flying out to our amazement. I don't normally eat or like sushi, but their Godfather roll was to die for! The salads, steak and sides were equally awesome. The service was impeccable as in any fine steak house however it was an added bonus that they were equally friendly throughout our meal and offered suggestions as to where to go after dinner. Don't miss this place if you are in Louisville! If possible ask for one of the booths in the main dining room especially if you are a couple as they are much more intimate and raised up a step from the main floor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    137
    45
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Excellent selection. Not cheap but everything our group had was excellent. Some different sides and they were very good. Nice atmosphere

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar
Top Contributor
607 reviews 607 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Dining with Friends we had a superb dinner in this restaurant with its Glitzy decor. The service was very good. My husband's 9 oz filet was perfectly done and my oysters were delicious. They basically have an a la carte menu. The portions are large. The sides are meant to share. Prices are on the high side but they attempt to make up for it with volume and service. It is connected by a hallway the Galt House Hotel making it very convenient for us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my visit to this steakhouse. It was my first visit and was pleasantly surprised as to the atmosphere, as I was expecting classic dark wood steakhouse. Bright colors and well lit was a nice change. But it was the steak that was the star. Simply fabulous. First class service and a great wine list topped off the visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryside, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great meal at a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

How do you go to a steakhouse and not order steak? A few of the people I dined with had fish!!
Everyone enjoyed what they ordered. The filet was one of the best I've ever had! Sides, dessert and wine were also very good.

This was one of those restaurants that provided an experience though. The service was fantastic, they are all helpful and knowledgeable. We never felt rushed which allowed us to enjoy each other in a beautiful setting. The decor is Art deco and there were many details that weren't overlooked. I hope to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.