We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but rather loud.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Rumba LLC

Havana Rumba LLC
4115 Oechsli Ave, Louisville, KY 40207-5022 (East Louisville)
502-897-1959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,518 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Description: Havana Rumba is a trip to the Caribbean no passport required. Join the Cuban party without having to break the travel restrictions. Buen provecho!
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food but rather loud.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I love the pork dishes here but ordered steak last time I was here. It was so-so. The tapas is usually good and you get a fair portion, enough for 2 to share.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    93
    25
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“finally a caipirinha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

new years eve dinner very good and finally had a good caipirinha, chicken with sofrito was ok, beef chimichurri was excellant

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“The only Cuban food in Louisville... and it's awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Havana Rumba is our go to place when we have out of town guests. The food is always excellent. My favorites are the Vaca Frita and Masas de Puerco. The first is beef and the second is pork. Both come with rice/beans and another side like plantains or yuca. It gets very noisy in the place and the constant drumbeat in the music can be annoying. But, it's the great food that makes HR a Louisville favorite!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The food is excellent, but the noise!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We really enjoy the food at Havana Rhumba, but have to finish eating at 8:00, because that's when it gets REALLY loud. It is a loud restaurant at any time, but we often won't go there because of the decibel level.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just as good as Tampa, Florida ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I grew up in Tampa, Florida where Cuban cuisine abounds. After moving to the Midwest, I have come to miss Cuban food as much (or more) than the warm Florida weather. When I saw this restaurant as we were traveling through, I had to give it a try.
Oh my! It was so good! We had the beef empanadas for an appetizer- incredible! The bread they served before dinner had me worried just a bit, as it was not authentic. For dinner, I had the lechon asado- so good. My husband had the chicken with potatoes (he can't remember the name) and I think I would get that next time as it was wonderful. My kids all had Cuban sandwiches and they were to die for. The bread on the sandwiches was authentic Cuban bread. My only regret is that we didn't order extra sandwiches to eat at home the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Rumba LLC also viewed

 

Been to Havana Rumba LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Rumba LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.