We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Rumba LLC

Havana Rumba LLC
4115 Oechsli Ave, Louisville, KY 40207-5022 (East Louisville)
502-897-1959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,505 restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Description: Havana Rumba is a trip to the Caribbean no passport required. Join the Cuban party without having to break the travel restrictions. Buen provecho!
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you like Cuban food, don't miss this restaurant!! If you've never tried Cuban food, don't miss this restaurant!! Service was great, food was better than any Cuban food I've had, even in Miami. Authentic, delicious, and worth every cent. Loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    217
    81
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“YUMM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I chose to dine at this restaurant with my family while we very visiting Louisville. We were told there would be a 20 minute wait but were seated in a about 5 minutes! The menu is huge with lots of options. Our server was not ver friendly. We ordered the Cuban Sampler as an appetizer. It was very flavorful and delicious! I ordered the Steak Chimichurri it was great it came with a red and green chimichurri sauce, white rice and fried plantians. Both of my parents dishes were also very good! The food was excellent, but the service could use work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A real gem in a strip mall in the suburbs near shopping malls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Totally unexpected place. Near Oxmoor Mall and St Matthews Mall - in a strip mall where you'd expect second rate food at best. But nay nay -- first rate Cuban food. The salads especially good. Service is fast prompt and knowledgable. The portions are large. Overall a really good place. The crowd is diverse and friendly -- mainly locals. Not a fancy room but perfectly good and suits the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Vaca Frita and Coconut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Havan Rumba was suggested by the B&B owner. This was only my second time in a Cuban restaurant, but I was eager to go as my first experience in San Francisco was good. My second was better. I ordered the Vaca Frita and a Coconut shake. The shake came first and was quite good. The main course was exceptional, as the beef was wonderfully crispy and seasoned to perfection. Everyone in the family was pleased with the meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to eat! Great place for fun night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Louisville. Great atmosphere and fantastic food. The mango mojitos are AMAZING and the steak chimi churri is a favorite. The appetizer towers are great to split. A fun place to take guests visiting town or just meet friends for drinks and dinner. The outside patio area is super nice and has great seating on plush cushioned wicker chairs or around outdoor tables -- all well done and very relaxing. The spanish music is great. We have never had a bad meal here and sometimes even take business guests here because the food is so good. The one on Shelbyville Road in Middletown is our favorite location (much bigger and has great outdoor seating). The Oechsli Ave location is the old original one in St. Matthews and is still great food, but not as nice dining atmosphere or as big as the Middletown location. Same great food, though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Rumba LLC also viewed

 

Been to Havana Rumba LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Rumba LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.