We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1022 South Third Street, Louisville, KY 40203 (Old Louisville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Louisville B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Exceptional Lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were attending a concert in Louisville and couldn't book a room in any of our usual hotels. But are we glad we couldn't after staying with John and Ricardo at the Rocking Horse B&B. We stayed in the Victoria Suite which we found to be quite plush and comfortable. The king sized canopy bed was very comfortable. The en-suite bath was incredible with a beautiful double shower, jetted tub and even a bidet. The home is obviously maintained with pride and love! The back yard is a private oasis in the middle of downtown. It is evident that John & Ricardo have taken great care in landscaping and upkeep. I absolutely loved all the rounded windows, restored woodwork and stained glass. The added bonus is that it is in easy walking distance of downtown Louisville attractions and restaurants. I give the House and the owners an A++

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room. We loved the Victoria Suite and all of the amenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    15
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
150
24
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Rocking Horse Manor B&B exceeded its reputation as the best B&B in Louisville based on our experience. I first went there as a break from the tedium of standard business hotels, and was delighted by the class and elegance of the manor, the attention to detail in decor and the respect for the history surrounding the property. John and Ricardo are the quintessential hosts, providing a warm, friendly welcome, a great ambiance, all the information one needs to know about the town, entertainment and dining options, and a top quality breakfast. The experience was so delightful that I came back with my wife, and we spent several nights playing tourists in Louisville. The second visit to Rocking Horse only reinforced my belief that the this is indisputably not only the best B and B in Louisville, but is at the top of the list of our more general, international experience with B&Bs. In addition, I would say the the value is unsurpassed, as the rates are quite reasonable. My wife and I enthusiastically recommend Rocking Horse Manor. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place truly rocks! Could not have asked for more accomodating hosts and delightful Bed & Breakfast. Our bed was very nice, our room was private and the breakfast was wonderful. An all around wonderful experience. Thank you John and Riccardo!

Jeff & Teresa
Cincinnati, Ohio

Room Tip: I think ALL of the rooms are wonderful. We were on the second floor and that was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Rocking Horse B&B is a beautiful place in Louisville to stay. John and Ricardo made our 3 day stay wonderful with their very tasty breakfasts and their suggestions on what to see in the city and area. The place makes you feel like you traveled back in time to a beautiful Victorian era. We stayed in the Irish Rose room which was cozy and had a nice outdoor balcony. We had our own bathroom and the free WiFi came in handy. The location of the Rocking Horse is in the middle of Louisville's old section. We found it an easy base to venture out and explore from while having a cozy place to come home to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rocking Horse on an Anniversary getaway. We were met at the door by John and Ricardo and given a very nice tour of this beautiful old home. We stayed in Patricia's Hideaway. A very nice room on the third floor ( this house has a LOT of stairs). The room had a private bath with a claw foot tub w/ a shower. There was a small lounge close by with ice and soft drinks. We also had a fruit tray we requested in our room upon arrival and an ice bucket was waiting with ice for a bottle of wine that I had brought. Breakfast was very tasty with a cheese souffle, ham and hashbrowns and yogurt. If you are looking for something to do in Old Louisville, I would recommend one of the guided tours, the victorian architecture in the neighborhood is incredible. If you don't have plans made John is an incredible wealth of information on the local area and enjoys giving you ideas. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise on the front side, although not terrible, it may be quieter on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

John and Ricardo were such wonderful hosts. This home was so beautiful and the food was amazing!! I was here for a show at the expo center for work, but I will be back for sure!! I can't wait to bring my fiance for a relaxing week at Rocking Horse Manor!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Rocking Horse Manor. We were there for 2 nights to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary and were warmly greeted by John with a wonderful tour of the manor. In our room, per our request we had waiting for us a chilled bottle of champagne and huge chocolate covered strawberries. Took us two days to eat them all! John and Ricardo were informative and gracious hosts. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and more than comfortable. All rooms including our bedroom had been wonderfully decorated with such lovely antiques. Breakfast each morning was delicious and filling. The common areas are gorgeous and had we stayed more days, I could see us sitting in the library just hanging around reading. John provided us with valuable information, days prior to our visit, via email regarding places to see and eat, which allowed me to create a fantastic fun filled itinerary as we roamed around Louisville for the first time. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1022 South Third Street, Louisville, KY 40203
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.