We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NeedToBreathe & Drew Holcomb concert 4/18/2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre

The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre
501 West Main Street, Louisville, KY (Central Business District)
502-584-7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 61 Attractions in Louisville
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NeedToBreathe & Drew Holcomb concert 4/18/2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My first time at the Brown Theater. Buying tickets and getting seats that I needed were super easy and friendly. I was afraid of it being hot inside because of them amount of people there but it was not, and it was not cold either, very comfortable temperature. The restrooms were very clean the whole night, the employees were very helpful and cheerful and also dressed professionally. Great atmosphere and a great show! The bands were there to put on a show and they did it! Pure fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
near Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“LOVE the Kentucky Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I try to make it to see at least 1-2 shows per year at The Kentucky Center. Most recently we have seen Les Miserables and Wicked and LOVED them both. I have always enjoyed the show selection and cast and we will continue to visit every year we can.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Broadway Across America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Even though we live over 200 miles from Louisville, we have been season ticket holders for the Broadway Across America series for over 20 years. Five or six times each year, we make the long round trip because the shows are so great and the venues - Kentucky Center for the Arts and Brown Theatre - are excellent. Some years we have also had season tickets for Cincinnati, but we believe the acoustics are better in Louisville. We are retired teachers who firmly believe in giving children cultural experiences, so we have seen "Lion King" in Louisville, Cincinnati, Chicago, London's West End, and on Broadway, and the Kentucky Center is as good as, or better than, all these other venues.

We have enjoyed almost every performance we've attended. I've read the other reviews of shows and agree with all the accolades. Our most recent show was "Memphis," and it was fantastic. The girl who played the female lead may be the strongest singer we've heard in a musical, with Huey's mother being a close second. The actor who played Huey Calhoun was perfect for the part, and his performance rivaled the ladies'. Our show coincided with the University of Louisville's appearance in the NCAA Final Four, so there were quite a few empty seats, which worked out well for us. The volunteer usher told us we might be able to upgrade our seats and move closer to the stage, and we wound up sitting near the center of the front row of the Grand Tier. Fantastic!

There are several theaters in the Kentucky Center, and we have attended shows in many of them. No complaints at all. At the main theater in another large nearby city, we were once seated behind a column, and another time so far to the edge that part of the stage could not be seen. No such problems in Louisville. The Brown Theater should actually be a different review, but every performance we have seen there has been excellent, also.

I have only two suggestions. As another reviewer has said, the seats in Whitney Hall are small for modern American audiences. While sitting down, I have caught the pockets of my slacks on more than one occasion, tearing them at least once. Also, I wish they would be more strict about cell phone usage. When the lights go down and you have reached the "suspension of disbelief" zone, some fool in front of you will check his text messages and the glare of his screen will break the spell.

I have already renewed our tickets for next year. The season looks great! (http://louisville.broadway.com/)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice Venue in Downtown for Events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We go there regularly for plays, music and special events of all kinds. Good convient parking garage, but it is expensive! Pricing is getting rich for many programs. The theaters have very good viewing from any seat and the seating is comfortable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brown is beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

First visit to The Brown March 2013. Have been to several events at The KY Center for the Arts. Both venues are fabulous. Prety space. Warm, welcoming staff. Really nice options!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.