We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue; Not a Bad Seat in the House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre

The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre
501 West Main Street, Louisville, KY (Central Business District)
502-584-7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 61 Attractions in Louisville
Type: Performances, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
IN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Venue; Not a Bad Seat in the House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Saw the Jersey Boys on 11-27-12 - the show was FABULOUS! Now for the theatre itself - very nice and clean, seating comfortable with enough leg room and not a bad seat in the house. My son bought my husband and me tickets for our anniversary; we were in the balcony in the very middle - and had a great view! I prefer balcony seats anyway, because I think you get a better view; not as close - but better, like from a bird's eye view. The audio in the bldg is very good, also.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Christmas Concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited here over the weekend to see a Holiday Orchestra Concert. The Building is well laid out and there were several staff members available to assist people. We liked that the ushers did not let people come in until between songs which reduced distractions, as well as the hallway which was closed off from the auditorium so people can walk down to their row area without bothering everyone else.Seating was a little tight but still comfortable. The only downside was that there is no center isle, just long rows which makes it hard for everyone to get in or out especially during intermission. Overall they did an excellent job of putting on the show and we had a nice evening. Family friendly. They advertised several off broadway shows and we would definitely go back. Easy access and ample parking in a garage close by with decent rates for downtown was a plus.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD and NYC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Opera at the Brown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have now been to 2 operas at the Brown. My wife is from NYC and grew up going to the Met and she loves it here. There are subtitles on a landscape-type monitor well above the stage so it's not distracting. The talent is great. Many of the performers travel around the US and elsewhere.
Convenience of getting in and out by either valet right in front of the Brown Theatre, the hotel lot or just parking across the street makes it very simple and convenient. There are multiple bars at the theatre and you are allowed to bring drinks back to your seat.
It's beautiful and vintage inside. Overall, convenience, atmosphere and talent make this a winner. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a bad seat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Saw two plays within the course of two months and sat in different parts of the theatre (one close to stage; other in grand tier). Save your money and get the cheaper seat. This place is fantastic view for all seats

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I love theater, I love going to the theater and I love going to the Kentucky Center. They have very good shows and wonderful decor, inviting and relaxing. I always enjoy my night at the show!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.