We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connection

The Connection
120 S Floyd St, Louisville, KY 40202 (Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 52 Nightlife in Louisville
Type: Gay Bars, Clubs
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“An unexpected experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I went with a few friends for a friends birthday and it was so much more than we expected. We thought it would just be a club with a bar, but it was so much better. We walked in and it seemed dead. We walked through some doors and realized that there was a drag show and it was PACKED. The show was much more sophisticated then we thought it would have been and they put on an amazing show. We made our way to the bartender who was more than willing to assist me with what drinks were good (I'm not much of a drinker) and reasonably priced. After the show we went to the dance floors where the strippers were dancing as the crowd found its way to the dance floor. Although we didn't dance much we were happy with our drinks and watching others have fun. There was even a couple of dance offs. Needless to say its worth going back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Outstanding club, but no customers!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends went to Connection after hearing great things. We're not from Louisville (we're from Nashville), and we had heard that it was an exciting gay club. The truth is that the club itself is pretty outstanding. The dance floor, the many bars, and the drag stage were all pretty extravagant. However, there was no one in the club! This was a Saturday night at about 11:30 and it was a ghost town. We asked the employees why it was so deserted, and they said it was the weather (it was a little rainy that night). We went to Play instead and it was packed. I say that the club was deserted, but in fact, there were actually several straight females (bachelorette parties, of course). I know that straight girls enjoy seeing drag shows, but this place seemed to be catering specifically to that crowd. They had a couple a straight male dancers come out and entertain these ladies. It felt more like a ladies club than a gay club. Everyone seemed very friendly. But we were looking for more excitement and energy.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Drag show, cute strippers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When we walked into the Connection at midnight, we were shocked to find a bar almost completely empty, room after room. It wasn't until we found the theater that we understood where everybody was! There was a drag pageant going on and the huntys were fierce! Friendly bartenders, a mixed crowd. Lots of shrieking bachelorette parties gawking at the drag queens and gay patrons as if we were zoo animals was the only unpleasant part about being there. Strippers seemed to enjoy the attention from the ladies more than they did the attention they received from their gay brethren.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What happen to Southern Hospitality ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

After dinner we decided to try this place out for a drink before returning to the hotel. walked up to the front door and were turned away. Because we had leftovers and a souvenir in a small bag we were told "you can't come in here" by a hostile bouncer. Way to go, great job on turning away business. Next time we are in town I think we'll skip this place. So save yourself the pain of dealing with a place that thinks it hot and it's NOT! This place is full of arrogance and tries to make people think it's exclusive but the truth is not even flies will go in there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Severely disappointing this time around.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went with a few friends and I have to say I was sorely let down on this visit. Itd been storming for awhile and there were leaks everywhere. Two behind a bar and one right in the way of the entrance to the performance area. The show was good as usual but bathroom was a nightmare. Aside from poor lighting and no soap or soap dispenser even in sight, the wait for the restroom was over 15 minutes. When a friend prompted a little hustle to finish up, a voice responded they were getting head and to move along. Now that's classy. Add a flooded floor and rude payment person to the mix, and you have my experience at this once welcoming place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Connection also viewed

 

Been to The Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.