We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Louisville's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glassworks

Glassworks
815 West Market Street, Louisville, KY 40202
502.584.4510
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glassworks houses the Mark Payton Glass Center and Flame Run. See live demonstrations in Glassblowing and Flameworking on our daily tours. Make a project in our Walk-in Workshop. Shop around in one of our two galleries. Hours are 10-5pm Monday - Saturday. Closed Sundays.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of Louisville's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you have not been there, just watching the glass workers ply their craft is terrific. Add that to the exhibits and the work for sale and you have a winner.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    7
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We chose to visit Glassworks based on the recommendation of a couple we met at our accommodations and we're very glad we did. We really enjoyed watching glass blowers at work in their studio, well worth the admission price.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is the Place to Learn About Glass Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Cool building, cool experience, cool art...HOT ovens! This is an excellent place for gift-buying, and a good educational experience too. Some hands-on opportunities to make your own too!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really cool place, VERY intresting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

When my wife and I visited there the owner was present. We were watching a glass blowing lesson in progress and the owner came into the observation area and gave us a LOT of information as to the various ways that glass is blown, shaped, colored, etc. He was very friendly and I was impressed that he'd take the time to spend with us. When we were there it wasn't very busy so they were kind enough to allow us to enter the observation area at no charge.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We made a point to stop here on our recent road trip. I love art glass, and wanted to have my husband experience making our own piece of art. We were able to create our own blown glass ornament (with the help of an in-house artist), and had a blast doing it. It was such a great experience. Do note though, that you can't take home the glass work the same day. You will have to wait for it to come down to room temperature which can take anywhere from 24-48 hours. They can always ship the work to you as well. We really loved seeing a working studio, and also purchased a beautiful glass bowl from the art studio.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glassworks also viewed

 

Been to Glassworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glassworks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.