We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, service, price all hit the sweetspot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya
2206 Frankfort Ave, Louisville, KY 40206
+1 502-290-3119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 1,517 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Brazilian, Cuban, Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Riviera Maya Latin Cuisine brings you a unique experience that sets it apart from the typical Mexican restaurant. While you will find staples like tacos, fajitas, and burritos - and even non-staples like the Cuban Sandwich - you can branch out from your comfort zone with several Mayan-inspired signature dishes. The Cochinita Pibil is a pork dish marinated in citrus juices and Mayan spices. The Cazuela de Mariscos is a slow-cooked casserole in salsa Maya with shrimp, scallops, fish, squid, mussels, and octopus. Also, for the veggie lovers, we have several items to satisfy that green tooth.
louisville, ky USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food, service, price all hit the sweetspot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

It started with a generous pitcher of excellent mojitos and a fresh take on chips and salsa (included a bowl of ceviche), attended by friendly waitstaff and finished off with great food. This is not a typical mexican place. the food is more inventive but they give a nod to traditional mexican menu items, like burritos and enchiladas. the mole was very good with just the right amount of cacao and a hint of sweetness. the shrimp ceviche (re-ordered on our second visit) was plentiful an delicious. the lechon de honor (sp?) was the best of the lot. a pork dish subtly flavored and accompanied by fried plantains. Dinner for four with drinks, appetizer and four entrees was $80, a good deal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food; service good, but short-staffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband, daughter and I ate here using a Groupon, and will definitely return without one! The restaurant only had a few other patrons when we were there on a week day evening, so I'm hoping that was unusual. The food was terrific... one favorite was the Pollo Asado served with rice, beans and sweet plantains. Both the chicken and plantains were crispy around the edges, making them even better. We also enjoyed the peach margarita and Enchiladas Riviera- 4 different enchiladas in one dish! Prices are good, and they have a kids menu for $5.99 that includes a soft drink, offering it to adults with a $2.00 upcharge- great idea! We had no room for dessert, but the selections look tasty! There are a few outside tables, to enjoy dining along Frankfort Avenue. The night we were there, 2 wait staff didn't show up, so it took longer than you would normally expect to get our food, etc. Our waiter was working hard!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin Island AL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice lunch at this new place on Frankfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Service was very prompt. The three of us chose from the lunch menu. Each item on the lunch menu is the same price: $7.99. There is a good variety of offerings. We had huevos con chorizo, fajitas con pollo, and carnitas. Each plate came with beans, rice, and various salsas.
The food was excellent. The restaurant was very clean and the tables were nicely set.
We will return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice Mexican/Latin addition to Frankfort Ave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a Groupon to entice us to try out this new restaurant, but won't need one to return! It's definitely a notch above the Mexican norm. The complimentary chips were warm & crispy served with both authentic hot & mild sauce. My Margarita was excellent & priced right too. I ordered Tacos de Camaron o Prescado & chose the fish instead of shrimp tacos which were wonderful! The food was also very nicely presented on a huge plate along with spanish rice & refried beans. There were a couple nice sauces, but didn't really need them as the tacos were perfectly prepared. My husband had the Chimichanga Riviera Maya, which looked equally as tasty. The portions were huge & we can't wait to try something new next time around. Give this place a try & you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon siesta after dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a new restaurant to Frankfort Avenue adding to the dynamic mix of cuisine there and its other locations in town. We were headed to the Greek restaurant across the street, though we recalled the last time we dined they didn't have a liquor license and we wanted a drink with dinner, so we tried this one out. The server Donovan was quick with our orders and made a few suggestions. The owner was also there and whipped up our margaritas. With a top shelf margarita, we shared the "special" chicken & steak fajitas. Lots of onions and peppers and the meat was very tender. The service was spectacular, despite having a very large party while we were there (~25), we didn't feel ignored and nothing was missing. The napkins were fabric and paper depending on the needs, restaurant and bathrooms impeccably clean.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Maya also viewed

 

Been to Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.